First Amendment topicsAbout the First Amendment
National Freedom of Information Act Hall of Fame

A salute to those who have pursued the people’s right to know
First Amendment Center

The right to know about the actions of government is now an important part of America’s democratic heritage.

The legal basis of this right was established on July 4, 1966, when President Johnson signed the Freedom of Information Act. In 1974, FOIA was strengthened with the passage of key amendments. A new measure, which would apply FOIA principles to electronic records, has been passed by House and Senate committees in the 104th Congress.

Journalists have used the act for more than three decades to generate thousands of news stories, including some of the most important exposés of our time. Using FOIA, journalists have held government accountable, exposed crime, and helped shape American public policy in major ways.

Many people inside the government, legislators as well as enlightened federal administrators, contributed to FOIA’s creation and implementation. Others, including presidents and some in Congress, have unsuccessfully sought to weaken FOIA. In part, it has been the vigilance of news organizations and journalists, supported by enlightened federal leaders, that has preserved the act.

A coalition of media organizations joined in 1996 to commemorate the 30th anniversary of FOIA. One goal is to develop a plan for expanding the rights of Americans to know about their government’s actions. Another is to recognize key individuals who have demonstrated strong leadership in connection with FOIA. These men and women have developed and defended federal legislation, ensuring the right of the American public to know about the actions of its government and helping journalists use the act in their work.

The following individuals are honored for their unique roles in helping to establish, defend and utilize the legal basis for the right to know. Following James Madison's special tribute, they are listed in alphabetical order.

Special Recognition

James Madison

Class of 1996 — Charter members

Samuel J. Archibald
Scott Armstrong
U.S. Sen. Hank Brown
Harold L. Cross
Lucy A. Dalglish
Earl English
U.S. Rep. Dante Fascell
Paul Fisher
William H. Hornby
Jane E. Kirtley
Jack C. Landau
U.S. Sen. Patrick Leahy
U.S. Sen. Edward Long
Paul K. McMasters
U.S. Rep. John E. Moss
J. Edward Murray
Virgil M. Newton Jr.
Jean H. Otto
James S. Pope
Harold C. Relyea
Bruce W. Sanford
Richard M. Schmidt Jr.
Sheryl L. Walter
J. Russell Wiggins

Class of 2001

Steven Aftergood
Rebecca Daugherty
U.S. Rep. Don Edwards
John R. Finnegan Sr.
Harry A. Hammitt
Beryl A. Howell
Patrice McDermott
Kate Martin
John D. Podesta
J. Laurent Scharff

Class of 2006

Andy Alexander
Gary Bass
Thomas S. Blanton
Danielle Brian
David Burnham
Hodding Carter III
Tom Curley
Tom Devine
Kevin Goldberg
Morton H. Halperin
Charles W. Hinkle
Kathleen A. Kirby
Susan B. Long
Robert D. Lystad
John E. Pike
Ronald L. Plesser
Russ Roberts
A. Bryan Siebert
David Sobel
Thomas M. Susman
Mark Tapscott


FOIA advocates named to national hall of fame
News release Twenty-one champions of open government to be inducted on National FOI Day, March 16. 03.08.06

Jack Landau, 'First Amendment guerrilla,' dies
Veteran reporter helped organize Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press in 1970. 08.18.08

National FOI Day

print this   Print

Last system update: Thursday, August 21, 2008 | 09:15:04
About this site
About the First Amendment
About the First Amendment Center
First Amendment programs
State of the First Amendment

First Reports
Supreme Court
First Amendment publications
First Amendment Center history
Freedom Sings™
First Amendment

Congressional Research Service reports
Guest editorials
FOI material
The First Amendment

Lesson plans
Contact us
Privacy statement
Related links