News - English
News numbre:  8710151199
2009-01-04 - 14:46

Fajr Filmfest to Host 49 Countries

TEHRAN (FNA)- Some 49 countries from around the globe are set to participate in Iran's 27th International Fajr Film Festival in the capital of Tehran.

Germany, the Netherlands, Ireland, Uruguay, Finland, the US, Portugal, South Korea, Belgium, Greece, India, France, China, Poland, Turkey, and Mexico are among the countries which will participate in the event's International Section.

The festival, to be held from February 1 to 11, 2009, will pay tribute to the late Academy Award-winning Hollywood star, Paul Newman, British filmmaker Mike Leigh and American director Francis Ford Coppola, press tv said.

Bollywood legend Amitabh Bachchan has also been invited to the festival to receive the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Founded in 1982, the Fajr International Film Festival is an annual event marking the anniversary of Iran's Islamic Revolution.