FarsNewsAgency - خبرگزاري فارس
Turkish / Persian / Arabic / English 29  Jumada Al-Awwal  1431 /  Thursday 13 May 2010 / 23 Ordibehesht 1389 a
Tehran - 06:50 / GMT - 02:20


All Stories

Foreign Policy


Contact us

About us

News number: 8902221559

17:07 | 2010-05-12

Foriegn Policy

Printable Version Send to a friend

Senior MP Highlights APA's Significant Role in Asian Convergence

TEHRAN (FNA)- A senior Iranian lawmaker on Wednesday stressed the important role played by the Asian Parliamentary Assembly (APA) in convergence among Asian states.

Addressing the inaugural ceremony of the Permanent Political Committee of the APA here in Tehran today, Parliament Vice-Speaker Hojjatoleslam Mohammad Hassan Abutorabifard expressed pleasure over the progress made by the assembly in the advancement and achievement of Asian convergence as the major goal of the Asian body.

Abutorabifard, who is also head of the APA's political committee, expressed the hope that the active presence and the positive moves taken by the Asian representatives in the gathering would accelerate the committee's progress.

"Asia has been the center and the main bed of in the growth of science and knowledge for many centuries and the effects of the assembly on the destiny of the world is obvious to everyone," he said.

Delegates from 16 countries arrived in Tehran to take part in a three-day conference of the APA's permanent political committee.

Participants are scheduled to discuss major security issues in the Asian continent on the first day of the conference. The participating countries are also due to prepare a draft resolution for future presentation to the APA Executive Council.

The APA was born in 2006 at the Seventh Session of the Association of Asian Parliamentary for Peace (AAPP).

The APA consists of 41 member parliaments and 17 observers. Each member parliament has a specific number of seats in the Assembly based on the size of its population.

APA permanent members are Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, Cyprus, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Palau, the Palestinian Authority, Philippines, South Korea, North Korea, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Tonga, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vietnam and Yemen.

APA members with observer status include Australia, Azerbaijan, East Timor, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Japan, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Zealand, Oman, Papua New Guinea, Qatar, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.