South Sudan Judiciary

The constitution of South Sudan mandates the establishment of the Judiciary of South Sudan (JOSS) as an independent decentralized institution. JOSS will be independent of the Executive and Legislature with its budget charged on the consolidated fund thereby having the necessary financial independence.


The president of the Supreme Court of South Sudan, as the head of the Judiciary of South Sudan will be answerable to the President of the government of South Sudan for the administration of the judiciary.


The judicial power in South Sudan is derived from the people and will be exercised by the courts in accordance with the customs, values, norms and aspirations of the people and conformity with the constitution and the law. The overall management of JOSS; its composition and functions; shall be prescribed by law, in accordance, with provisions of the constitution.

The Judiciary of South Sudan is structured as follows:


  1. The Supreme Court of South Sudan
  2. Courts of Appeal
  3. High Courts
  4. County Courts
  5. Other courts or Tribunals as deemed necessary to be established
  6. New Sudan Judicial System — Court Hierarchy




Source: Gurtong Peace Trust



This article was updated on Sep 1, 2011