left: Margalit Fox/Ivan Farkas; right: Kiese Laymon/Emma Redden

Margalit Fox and Kiese Laymon win Stanford's 2014 Saroyan Prize for Writing

Every two years, Stanford awards the William Saroyan Prize for International Writing to encourage new or emerging writers in nonfiction and fiction.

Maryam Mirzakhani portrait / Photo: Courtesy of Maryam Mirzakhani

Stanford's Maryam Mirzakhani wins Fields Medal

Maryam Mirzakhani is the first woman to ever win the Fields Medal – known as the "Nobel Prize of mathematics" – in recognition of her contributions to the understanding of the symmetry of curved surfaces.

Art Sterritt

Stanford announces 2014 Stanford Bright Award recipient

The Stanford Bright Award recognizes unheralded individuals who have made significant contributions to global sustainability. Art Sterritt will receive the 2014 award for his efforts in protecting the Great Bear Rainforest in Canada.

Paul Milgrom and Robert Wilson / Milgrom courtesy of Milgrom; Wilson courtesy of Stanford GSB

Stanford economists among Golden Goose winners

Stanford economists Robert Wilson and Paul Milgrom have been chosen for the 2014 Golden Goose Award. The award honors scientists whose research was funded by the federal government and has benefited society in important but sometimes unexpected ways. Wilson and Milgrom introduced the initial design for sales of radio spectrum licenses in the United States.

Fulbright Program awards grants to Stanford doctoral candidates and alums

Next year, 11 Stanford students and alumni will fan out across the globe to pursue special projects funded by the Fulbright U.S. Student Program.

Directors' Cup

Stanford wins 20th Directors' Cup as top intercollegiate athletic department

Stanford sent a student-athlete to accept the award on behalf of the university. Lexie Ross, a senior human biology major and member of Stanford’s NCAA national champion women’s water polo team, also spoke at the awards luncheon.


Stanford's Community Partnership Awards honor three service programs

Winners are selected based on their initiative, leadership and involvement in projects that embody the spirit of genuine partnership and benefit the overall community.

Catherine Heaney / Courtesy Catherine Heaney

Catherine Heaney to receive Roland Prize for developing long-term community partnerships

The Miriam Aaron Roland Volunteer Service Prize recognizes Stanford faculty who engage and involve students in integrating academic scholarship with significant and meaningful volunteer service to society.

Andrei LInde

Stanford physicist Andrei Linde awarded Kavli Prize in Astrophysics

The Kavli Prize in Astrophysics recognizes Linde's contributions in developing cosmic inflation, the theory that explains the origin and structure of the universe.

Laurette Beeson / L.A. Cicero

Laurette Beeson, sympathetic and compassionate, firm and fair, wins Stanford's Amy J. Blue Award

In her role as an assistant dean for graduate life at Stanford, Laurette Beeson, one of this year's Amy J. Blue Award winners, offers graduate students and their families comprehensive, impartial guidance and information related to all aspects of graduate life.  Video

Mark Urbanek

Mark Urbanek, 'tireless in his dedication to accomplishment,' wins Amy J. Blue Award

As technical manager for the Film & Media Studies Program, Mark Urbanek helps train undergraduate and graduate students in the proper use of video, audio, lighting and editing equipment. His other passions include superheroes, gardening and bubbles.  Video

Two Stanford professors elected to National Academy of Sciences

The faculty members have been elected to receive one of the highest honors for an American scientist in recognition of their achievements in original research.

Three Stanford staffers chosen for 2014 Amy J. Blue Awards for their extraordinary contributions

The awards were established in 1991 to honor the life and work of the late Amy J. Blue, an associate vice president for administrative services and facilities, who was known as a woman of incisive intelligence, abundant energy and unrelenting honesty.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences elects 11 Stanford professors to 2014 class

The academy is one of the country's oldest and most prestigious honorary learned societies, and a leading center for independent policy research.

Cambridge University

Three Stanford alums named 2014 Gates Cambridge Scholars

David "Wei" Jai, '13, a doctoral student in Stanford's School of Engineering, and alumni Andrew Parker, '11, and Eric Tuan, '12, have been awarded scholarships for graduate studies at the University of Cambridge.