Polly Courtice / Courtesy Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership

Stanford announces 2015 Stanford Bright Award recipient

The annual prize recognizes unheralded individuals who have made significant contributions to global sustainability. Polly Courtice has won the 2015 award for her efforts in guiding thousands of business leaders to more sustainable business practices.

Hilary Chart with businessmen in Botswana

Stanford SEED awards $2.7 million for research projects around the globe

The awards from the Stanford Institute for Innovation in Developing Economies will fund 33 projects in 23 nations.

Invention Hall of Fame award plaques / Linda Chao

Stanford Invention Hall of Fame welcomes six new technologies and honors 27 new prolific inventors

Each new technology has earned more than $5 million in royalties for Stanford. The 27 new prolific inventors have invented at least seven technologies that, in aggregate, have generated over $500,000.

Golden and Firestone medals /  Courtesy Undergraduate Advising and Research

Graduating seniors awarded 2015 Firestone and Golden medals, Kennedy Thesis Prize

Graduating seniors recently received the 2015 Firestone Medal for Excellence in Undergraduate Research, the Robert M. Golden Medal for Excellence in Humanities and Creative Arts, and the David M. Kennedy Honors Thesis Prize for their undergraduate capstone projects.

Fulbright logo

Fulbright Program awards grants to Stanford doctoral candidates, alumni and graduating seniors

Stanford's 2015 Cuthbertson, Dinkelspiel and Gores awards honor librarian, faculty and PhD students

University Librarian Michael Keller, three members of the faculty and two doctoral candidates will receive awards on June 14 at the 124th Commencement Ceremony for their outstanding contributions to Stanford.

Priscilla Fiden / L.A. Cicero

Priscilla Fiden, 'a remarkable citizen of Stanford,' wins Amy J. Blue Award

Fiden, the assistant dean for administrative operations at the Graduate School of Education, inspires staff to make their "A game" even better.  

Leslie Winick / Photo: L.A. Cicero

Leslie Winick, 'charmingly indefatigable,' wins Amy J. Blue Award

As the director of alumni and student class outreach for the Stanford Alumni Association, Winick is the "wind and the sails" of Reunion Homecoming, colleagues say, and every year brings fresh drive, commitment and enthusiasm to the annual event.  

Kahlil Wells

Stanford Dining's Kahlil Wells, 'a joy to work with,' wins Amy J. Blue Award

As an assistant director of Stanford Dining, Kahlil Wells oversees an operation that serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night offerings to students living in Lagunita Court, Roble Hall and other residences on the west side of campus. He is described as a dedicated manager and supportive mentor who sets high standards of excellence.  

Nine Stanford faculty members elected to National Academy of Sciences

The faculty members have been elected to receive one of the highest honors for an American scientist in recognition of their achievements in original research.

Alfred Delena

Stanford senior wins Truman Scholarship for graduate studies

Alfred Delena, who was born and raised on the Pueblo of Zuni reservation in New Mexico, is one of 58 recipients of this year's award, which provides up to $30,000 for graduate study to students with "exceptional leadership potential" who are committed to careers in public service.

AAAS seal

American Academy of Arts and Sciences elects 10 Stanford professors to 2015 class

Ten Stanford faculty members were tapped for membership in the 2015 class of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the country's oldest and most prestigious honorary learned societies.

Amy J. Blue / Stanford News Service

Three Stanford staffers win 2015 Amy J. Blue Awards

The awards honor the life and work of the late Amy J. Blue, an associate vice president for administrative services and facilities, who was known as a woman of incisive intelligence, abundant energy and unrelenting honesty.

Stanford Dining staff and clients from Abilities United's employment services program / Keith Uyeda

Stanford's 2015 Community Partnership Awards honor three local programs

Winners are selected based on their initiative, leadership and involvement in projects that embody the spirit of genuine partnership and benefit the overall community.

Elizabeth Hadly / Katie Clease

Stanford Professor Elizabeth Hadly to receive Roland Volunteer Service Prize

The Miriam Aaron Roland Volunteer Service Prize recognizes Stanford faculty who engage and involve students in integrating academic scholarship with significant and meaningful volunteer service to society.