William Saroyan International Prize for Writing

The Stanford University Libraries and the William Saroyan Foundation jointly award the William Saroyan International Prize for Writing, a biennial competition for newly-published books.

The prize commemorates the life, legacy and intentions of William Saroyan - author, artist, dramatist, composer - and is intended to encourage new or emerging writers, rather than to recognize established literary figures.

We are currently accepting submissions for the 2016 Saroyan Prize for books published in 2014 and 2015. The deadline for entries is January 29, 2016. Please see our FAQ page for complete details.

2014 winners

Long Division
Green Library » Stacks » PS3612 .A959 L66 2013
Riddle of the Labyrinth
First edition.
Law Library (Crown) » Basement » P1038 .F69 2013

2014 finalists

First edition.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3612 .U538 F33 2013
A Marker to Measure Drift
1st ed. New York : Alfred A. Knopf, c2013.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3613 .A37 M37 2013