The Stanford Alumni Association was established in 1892 by the university's first graduating class. In 2014, there are 217,311 Stanford alumni living worldwide.

Stanford Alumni Association

Established in 1892 by members of Stanford’s first graduating class, the Stanford Alumni Association works to reach, serve and engage Stanford alumni throughout the world. It offers programs and services including reunions, Stanford Magazine,  faculty-led travel, and alumni networking. For more information, visit

Some notable Stanford alumni include:

Academic leaders

William Brody, Salk Institute president; Nancy Cantor, Rutgers-Newark chancellor; Michael Drake, The Ohio State University president; Pamela Eibeck, University of the Pacific president; Vartan Gregorian, Carnegie Corporation president; Father William Leahy, Boston College president; and Peter Salovey, Yale University president.

Arts and entertainment

Actors Andre Braugher, Jennifer Connelly and Sigourney Weaver; artists Richard Diebenkorn* and Robert Motherwell*; broadcasters Gretchen Carlson, Ted Koppel and Rachel Maddow; composer David Lang; directors David Chase, Alexander Payne and Jay Roach; pianist Jon Nakamatsu; producers David Brown*, Gale Anne Hurd, Edward Pressman and Richard Zanuck.*


Baseball players Mike Mussina and Jack McDowell; football players John Elway, Toby Gerhart, Andrew Luck, John Lynch, Jim Plunkett and Richard Sherman; basketball players Jason Collins, Brook and Robin Lopez, Nneka Ogwumike and Chiney Ogwumike; golfers Tom Watson and Tiger Woods; Olympians Jennifer Azzi, Janet Evans, Julie Foudy, Eric Heiden, Bob Mathias*, Pablo Morales, Jessica Mendoza, Summer Sanders, Kerri Strug, Jenny Thompson and Kerri Walsh; and tennis players Bob and Mike Bryan and John McEnroe.


Eric Baker and Jeff Fluhr (StubHub), Mary Barra (General Motors), Steve Ballmer (Los Angeles Clippers), Jeffrey Bewkes (Time Warner), Sergey Brin and Larry Page (Google), Doris Fisher (Gap), Reed Hastings (Netflix), William Hewlett* and David Packard* (Hewlett-Packard), Konstantin Guericke and Reid Hoffman (LinkedIn), Phil Knight (Nike), Marissa Mayer (Yahoo), Scott McGregor (Broadcom); Scott McNealy, Vinod Khosla and Andy Bechtolsheim (Sun Microsystems), Azim Premji (Wipro), Charles R. Schwab, (Charles Schwab Corp.), Debbie Sterling (GoldiBlox), Kevin Systrom and Mike Krieger (Instagram), Peter Thiel (PayPal) and Jerry Yang and David Filo (Yahoo).


U.S. president Herbert Hoover*; Supreme Court justices Stephen Breyer, Anthony Kennedy, Sandra Day O’Connor and William Rehnquist*; U.S. senators Cory Booker, Dianne Feinstein, Jeff Merkley and Ron Wyden; Susan Rice, U.S. National Security Adviser; Julian Castro, U.S. Secretary of Housing and Urban Development; Penny Pritzker, U.S. Secretary of Commerce; and U.S. ambassador to China Max Baucus.

Science and engineering

Inventors Vinton Cerf (the Internet protocol), John Chowning (synthesizer), Ray Dolby* (noise-reduction system), Ted Hoff (microprocessor), Ted Maiman* (laser), Brad Parkinson (GPS) and Brent Townshend (56K modem); Nobel Prize winners Dudley Herschbach, Roger Kornberg and K. Barry Sharpless (chemistry), and Eric Cornell, Richard E. Taylor and Carl Wieman (physics).

Creative writing

Novelists Michael Cunningham, Jeffrey Eugenides, Allegra Goodman, Alice Hoffman, Ken Kesey*, Nicole Krauss, N. Scott Momaday, John Steinbeck*, Vikram Seth, Scott Turow and Tobias Wolff; playwrights David Henry Hwang and Mark Medoff; poets laureate Robert Hass and Robert Pinsky.

And more

Episcopal presiding bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori; Nobel Prize-winning economists Al Roth and Oliver E. Williamson; statistician Edward Tufte; philanthropic leaders Jeffrey Skoll (Skoll Foundation), Jeff Raikes (The Raikes Foundation) and Jessica Jackley and Matt Flannery (Kiva); Internet pioneer Stewart Brand; Mozilla Firefox developer Blake Ross; surgeon Atul Gawande; vintners Paul Draper and Robert Mondavi*; and the first American woman in space Sally Ride*.

* deceased

This page last modified Mar 13, 2015.