music

Piranesi's Paestum Thursday Tours

Ongoing from August 27, 2015 through December 17, 2015. See details for exact dates and times.
Cantor Arts Center (meet in Main Lobby)


Daniel Pearl World Music Days Concert

Thursday, October 8, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Memorial Church


IDA Open House

Friday, October 9, 2015.  3:00 PM.
The Harmony House


72-Hour Musical Theater Project: Gravity

Friday, October 9, 2015.  7:00 PM.
Roble Theater


Piranesi's Paestum Saturday Tours

Ongoing from August 29, 2015 through December 19, 2015. See details for exact dates and times.
Cantor Arts Center (meet in Main Lobby)


Artists at Work Saturday Tours

Ongoing every week from September 19, 2015 through January 23, 2016.  2:00 PM.
Cantor Arts Center (meet in Main Lobby)


Kronos Quartet: My Lai

Saturday, October 10, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Artists at Work Sunday Tours

Ongoing every week from September 20, 2015 through January 24, 2016.  2:00 PM.
Cantor Arts Center (meet in Main Lobby)


Shenson Recital Series: Eugene Brancoveanu, baritone, and Laura Dahl, piano

Sunday, October 11, 2015.  2:30 PM.
Campbell Recital Hall


Compline: An Evening Service of Song

Sunday, October 11, 2015.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


Eugene Brancoveanu, baritone: Voice Masterclass

Monday, October 12, 2015.  4:30 PM.
Campbell Recital Hall


AUDITIONS: "The House on Mango Street," A TAPS Grad Project by Karina Gutierrez

Ongoing every day from October 13, 2015 through October 15, 2015.  6:30 PM.
Prosser Studio Theater


William Winant and Joe Lasqo: Percussion and its Double

Tuesday, October 13, 2015.  7:30 PM.
CCRMA Stage, The Knoll


Premiere: "The Chest of Damnation"

Wednesday, October 14, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Dinkelspiel Auditorium


Stanford Jazz Consortium Presents: CBG Organ Trio

Wednesday, October 14, 2015.  7:30 PM.
CCRMA Stage @ The Knoll


Clinton Fellowship for Service in India Information Session

Thursday, October 15, 2015.  4:00 PM.
Conference Room, 1st Floor


GUEST LECTURE: Steve Wilmer on "Refugees on the Berlin Stage Today"

Thursday, October 15, 2015.  4:00 PM.
Room 125, Memorial Hall


PERFORMANCE: "Bottom Bride," by Eric Eich

Ongoing every day from October 15, 2015 through October 17, 2015.  8:00 PM.
Elliott Program Center


Nina Ergin, “Ottoman Patrons of Sixteenth-Century Mosques in Istanbul and Their Qur'anic Recitation Programs”

Friday, October 16, 2015.  4:00 PM.
Terrace Room, English Department (Margaret Jacks Hall, Building 460)


The Wailin' Jennys

Saturday, October 17, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Handel and Haydn Society: The Bicentennial Tour

Sunday, October 18, 2015.  2:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Compline: An Evening Service of Song

Sunday, October 18, 2015.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


Jazz Talk: "New World A-Coming: Jazz and Civil Rights"

Monday, October 19, 2015.  5:30 PM.
Cantor Auditorium


AUDITIONS: TAPS Winter Musical "Oh What a Lovely War!"

Ongoing every day from October 19, 2015 through October 20, 2015.  6:00 PM.
Memorial Hall


UK London University - Graduate Programs Information Session

Tuesday, October 20, 2015.  12:00 PM.
Conference Room, 1st Floor


Robert Huw Morgan, Organ

Friday, October 23, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Memorial Church


Academy of St. Martin in the Fields Chamber Ensemble

Sunday, October 25, 2015.  2:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Compline: An Evening Service of Song

Sunday, October 25, 2015.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


Noon Concert: Voice Students of Claire Giovannetti

Wednesday, October 28, 2015.  12:30 PM.
Campbell Recital Hall


Boren Awards Information Session

Thursday, October 29, 2015.  4:00 PM.
Conference Room, 1st Floor


Halloween Concert: Stanford Wind Ensemble and Stanford Symphony Orchestra

Saturday, October 31, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Dinkelspiel Auditorium


Compline: An Evening Service of Song

Sunday, November 1, 2015.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


Noon Concert: Flute Students of Alexandra Hawley

Wednesday, November 4, 2015.  12:30 PM.
Campbell Recital Hall


Irish Chamber Orchestra

Wednesday, November 4, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Noon Concert: Piano Students of George Barth and Kumaran Arul (new date)

Friday, November 6, 2015.  12:30 PM.
Campbell Recital Hall


Stanford Wind Ensemble: Sibelius Festival

Friday, November 6, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Stanford Symphony Orchestra: Sibelius Festival

Saturday, November 7, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Stanford Symphony Orchestra: Sibelius Festival

Sunday, November 8, 2015.  2:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Compline: An Evening Service of Song

Sunday, November 8, 2015.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


Noon Concert: Cello Students of Stephen Harrison

Wednesday, November 11, 2015.  12:30 PM.
Campbell Recital Hall


Stanford Jazz Orchestra with Carl Allen, drums

Wednesday, November 11, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Noon Concert: Harpsichord Students of Elaine Thornburgh

Friday, November 13, 2015.  12:30 PM.
Campbell Recital Hall


Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra: Bach's Brandenburgs

Friday, November 13, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Stanford Philharmonia: Music by Rossini, Schubert, and Mendelssohn

Saturday, November 14, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Stanford Chamber Chorale: There Will be Stars

Saturday, November 14, 2015.  8:00 PM.
Memorial Church


Compline: An Evening Service of Song

Sunday, November 15, 2015.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


Noon Concert: Piano Students of Frederick Weldy

Wednesday, November 18, 2015.  12:30 PM.
Campbell Recital Hall


University Singers

Wednesday, November 18, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Memorial Church


Friction Quartet

Friday, November 20, 2015.  12:30 PM.
Campbell Recital Hall


Peninsula Symphony Orchestra with Stanford Symphonic Chorus

Friday, November 20, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Peninsula Symphony Orchestra with Stanford Symphonic Chorus

Sunday, November 22, 2015.  2:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Matthew Billman: Senior Voice Recital (New date!)

Sunday, November 29, 2015.  7:00 PM.
Campbell Recital Hall


Fall Chamber Music Showcase I

Tuesday, December 1, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Campbell Recital Hall


Fall Chamber Music Showcase II

Wednesday, December 2, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Campbell Recital Hall


Early Music Singers

Wednesday, December 2, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Memorial Church


Michel Chion (Sorbonne Nouvelle), "From Sound Procession to Sound Traveling: A Musical, Literary, and Cinematic Story"

Friday, December 4, 2015.  4:00 PM.
Humanities Center Board Room


Stanford Flute Ensemble

Friday, December 4, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Campbell Recital Hall


A Festival of Lessons and Carols

Friday, December 4, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Memorial Church


Holiday Musicale

Saturday, December 5, 2015.  2:30 PM.
Memorial Church


A Festival of Lessons and Carols

Saturday, December 5, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Memorial Church


Stanford Afro-Latin Jazz Ensemble

Saturday, December 5, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Campbell Recital Hall


A Chanticleer Christmas

Thursday, December 10, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Memorial Church


Annual Messiah Sing / Play Along

Friday, December 11, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Memorial Church


A Windham Hill Winter Solstice

Saturday, December 12, 2015.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Holiday Organ Recital: Robert Huw Morgan

Sunday, December 13, 2015.  1:30 PM.
Memorial Church


St. Lawrence String Quartet

Sunday, January 17, 2016.  2:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Francisco Prado-Vilar (Harvard), “Silentium made Visible: The Poetics and Materiality of Silence in Medieval Art”

Friday, January 22, 2016.  4:00 AM.
Humanities Center Board Room


Yamato- The Drummers of Japan

Ongoing from January 23, 2016 through January 24, 2016. See details for exact dates and times.
Memorial Auditorium


Compline: An Evening Service of Song

Sunday, January 24, 2016.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


Gabriel Kahane and Brooklyn Rider

Friday, January 29, 2016.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Compline: An Evening Service of Song

Sunday, January 31, 2016.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


Kid Koala's Nufonia Must Fall

Thursday, February 4, 2016.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Alisa Weilerstein and Inon Barnatan

Saturday, February 6, 2016.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Compline: An Evening Service of Song

Sunday, February 7, 2016.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


Compline: An Evening Service of Song

Sunday, February 14, 2016.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


Gabriella Safran, “When Is Vocal Imitation Mockery? Comedy and Ethnography on the 19th-Century Russian Stage”

Friday, February 19, 2016.  4:00 PM.
Humanities Center Board Room


Compline: An Evening Service of Song

Sunday, February 21, 2016.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


Silk Road Ensemble

Wednesday, February 24, 2016.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Passion World- Kurt Elling

Saturday, February 27, 2016.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Compline: An Evening Service of Song

Sunday, February 28, 2016.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


Vincent Barlett, "Rhythm as Form"

Friday, March 4, 2016.  4:00 AM.
Humanities Center Board Room


Compline: An Evening Service of Song

Sunday, March 6, 2016.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


Zakir Hussain & Masters of Percussion

Friday, March 18, 2016.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


St. Lawrence String Quartet- Good Friday Concert

Friday, March 25, 2016.  5:00 PM.
Memorial Church


The Choir of St. John's College, Cambridge

Tuesday, March 29, 2016.  7:30 PM.
Memorial Church


The Choir of St. John's College, Cambridge

Wednesday, March 30, 2016.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Arlo Guthrie

Saturday, April 9, 2016.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Takács Quartet with Garrick Ohlsson

Sunday, April 10, 2016.  2:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Compline: An Evening Service of Song

Sunday, April 10, 2016.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


Murray Perahia

Thursday, April 14, 2016.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Anna Friz, “Resonant Subjectivity in Acousmatic and Radio Spaces”

Friday, April 15, 2016.  4:00 PM.
Humanities Center Board Room


Trio Cleonice

Sunday, April 17, 2016.  2:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Compline: An Evening Service of Song

Sunday, April 17, 2016.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


Midori

Sunday, April 24, 2016.  2:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Compline: An Evening Service of Song

Sunday, April 24, 2016.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


St. Lawrence String Quartet

Sunday, May 1, 2016.  2:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Compline: An Evening Service of Song

Sunday, May 1, 2016.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


Compline: An Evening Service of Song

Sunday, May 8, 2016.  9:00 PM.
Memorial Church


Eugenia León

Friday, May 13, 2016.  7:30 PM.
Bing Concert Hall


Vanessa Chang, “From Playback to Play: Gestural Invention and Digital Music”

Friday, June 3, 2016.  4:00 PM.
Humanities Center Board Room