Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

National Academy of Sciences

Established in 1863, the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) is an honorary society engaged in scientific and engineering research that is dedicated to promoting science and technology for the welfare of society. The academy is mandated by Congress to advise the federal government on scientific and technical matters.

Distinguished members of NAS across H&S:

Hans C. Andersen*, Chemistry
Theodore W. Anderson*, Statistics, Economics
Kenneth J. Arrow*, Economics, Operations Research
Bruce S. Baker*, Biological Sciences
Malcolm R. Beasley*, Applied Physics, Electrical Engineering
Roger Blandford, Physics, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
Steven Block, Applied Physics, Biological Sciences
Gordon H. Bower*, Psychology
Steven Boxer, Chemistry
John I. Brauman*, Chemistry
Winslow R. Briggs*, Biological Sciences
Philip Bucksbaum, Applied Physics
Robert L. Byer, Applied Physics
Emanuel Candes, Mathematics, Statistics
Allan M. Campbell*, Biological Sciences
Steven Chu*, Applied Physics, Physics
James P. Collman*, Chemistry
Karen Cook, Sociology
Gretchen Daily, Biological Sciences
Persi Diaconis, Statistics, Mathematics
Rudolfo Dirzo, Biological Sciences
Carl Djerassi*, Chemistry
David Donoho, Statistics
Carol Dweck, Psychology
Bradley Efron, Statistics
Paul Ehrlich, Biological Sciences
Yakov Eliashberg, Mathematics
Michael D. Fayer, Chemistry
James D. Fearon, Political Science
Marcus Feldman, Biology
John Ferejohn*, Political Science, Hoover Institution
Christopher B. Field, Biological Sciences
Morris P. Fiorina, Jr., Political Science, Hoover Institution
Daniel S. Fisher, Applied Physics
John H. Flavell*, Psychology
Charles Frake*, Anthropology
Jerome Friedman*, Statistics
Theodore H. Geballe*, Applied Physics, Materials Science & Engineering
Robert E. Hall, Economics, Hoover Institution
Philip Hanawalt, Biological Sciences
Stephen E. Harris, Applied Physics, Electrical Engineering
Keith Hodgson, Chemistry
Matthew O. Jackson, Economics
Iain Johnstone, Statistics, Biostatistics
Joseph B. Keller*, Mathematics & Mechanical Engineering
Donald Kennedy*, Biological Sciences
Steven Allan Kivelson, Physics
Richard G. Klein, Anthropology
Anne O. Krueger*, Economics
David Laitin, Political Science
Robert B. Laughlin, Physics, Applied Physics
Margaret Levi, Political Science
Andrei Linde, Physics
Sharon R. Long, Biological Sciences
Liqun Luo, Biological Sciences
Eleanor E. Maccoby*, Psychology
James G. March*, Political Science, Sociology, Business
Ellen Markman, Psychology
Max Mathews*, Music
Harden M. McConnell*, Chemistry
Susan McConnell, Biology
Paul R. Milgrom, Economics
William E. Moerner, Chemistry
Harold Mooney, Biological Sciences
Donald S. Ornstein*, Mathematics
Douglas Osheroff*, Physics
George C. Papanicolaou, Mathematics
Stephen Quake, Bioengineering, Applied Physics
John Ross*, Chemistry
Lee D. Ross, Psychology
Alvin E. Roth, Economics
Thomas Sargent*, Economics
Robert T. Schimke*, Biological Sciences
Richard Schoen, Mathematics
Carla Shatz, Biological Sciences, Neurobiology
Zhi-Xun Shen, Physics, Applied Physics, Photon Science
Stephen Shenker, Physics
Roger N. Shepard*, Psychology
David O. Siegmund, Statistics
G. William Skinner*, Anthropology
Edward I. Solomon, Chemistry
George Somero, Biological Sciences
Christopher Somerville, Biological Sciences, Carnegie Institution
Charles Stein*, Statistics
Joseph Stiglitz*, Economics
Patrick Suppes*, Philosophy, Statistics
Leonard Susskind, Physics
Barry Trost, Chemistry
Peter M. Vitousek, Biological Sciences
Brian A. Wandell, Psychology
Barry Weingast, Political Science
Paul A. Wender, Chemistry
Charles Yanofsky*, Biological Sciences
Richard N. Zare, Chemistry
Shoucheng Zhang, Physics

Affiliated with Hoover Institution:
Gary Becker, Economics

Other scholars:
Richard G. Brewer, consulting professor, Applied Physics
Joseph Berry, Carnegie Institution; courtesy Biology


Featured H&S Stories