Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

National Medal of Science

The National Medal of Science, the nation’s highest scientific honor, is a presidential award given to individuals “deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical, or engineering sciences.” In 1980, this recognition was expanded to include the social and behavioral sciences. Recipients in H&S:

2005 Gordon H. Bower, Psychology
2005 Bradley Efron, Statistics
2004 Kenneth Arrow, Economics
2003 Charles Yanofsky, Biological Sciences
2002 John I. Brauman, Chemistry
1999 John Ross, Chemistry
1995 Roger N. Shepard, Psychology
1992 Calvin Quate, Applied Physics and Electrical Engineering
1991 Arthur L. Schawlow*, Physics
1990 Patrick Suppes, Philosophy and Statistics
1989 Samuel Karlin*, Mathematics
1989 Harden M. McConnell, Chemistry
1988 Joseph B. Keller, Mathematics and Mechanical Engineering
1987 William S. Johnson*, Chemistry
1986 Robert Hofstadter*, Physics
1983 Richard N. Zare, Chemistry
1976 Henry Taube*, Chemistry
1974 Paul Flory*, Chemistry
1974 Rudolf Kompfner*, Applied Physics
1974 Linus Pauling*, Chemistry
1973 Carl Djerassi, Chemistry
1967 Paul J. Cohen*, Mathematics
1963 Cornelis B. van Niel*, Microbiology

Affiliated with Hoover Institution:
2000 Gary Becker, Economics


Featured H&S Stories