Skip to content Skip to navigation

University Awards Nominations

Annual Gores, Dinkelspiel, and Cuthbertson Awards

Recipients of these awards are honored for high achievements in teaching, advising, professional activities, and other services to the University. See the Registrar's Awards web page for the complete criteria for the awards and to see the list of previous award winners.  Any member of the Stanford community may submit a nomination or supporting letter.

If you know persons deserving such recognition, especially students eligible for the Dinkelspiel Awards, please submit one or more letters outlining their contributions to: The Senate Subcommittee on University Honors, Office of the Registrar, 482 Galvez Mall, Suite 120, MC 6032. Email nominations and supporting letters are encouraged and should be directed to Laura Remillard:  Even one letter on behalf of a candidate can make a difference.

Nominations are now open. If you have questions regarding the nomination process, contact Laura Remillard: Award recipients will be announced in May and will be formally acknowledged at the University Commencement. The deadline for nominations is Monday, April 4, 2016.

Nominations for Allan Cox Medal

Nominations for the Allan V. Cox Medal for Faculty Excellence in Fostering Research are sponsored by Undergraduate Advising and Research. The Cox Medal is awarded annually to a faculty member from any school in the University who has established a record of excellence directing undergraduate research for a number of years. It may go to a faculty member who has done an especially outstanding job with just one or two undergraduates whose work is unusually superior. For information, procedures, and a list of the winners, see the Cox Medal Nomination site. The deadline for nominations is Monday, April 18, 2016.


Who May Nominate? Any member of the Stanford community may nominate for one or more of these awards. Students are especially encouraged to nominate anyone who has made a special contribution to their education.

Why Nominate? Stanford's quality as an educational institution depends upon the dedication of its faculty, students, and staff. Recognizing those whose extraordinary efforts have made Stanford a better place thanks the award winners and reminds the community of the importance of individual contributions to the institution. Each award carries a cash stipend, a formal citation, and extensive public recognition.

When to Nominate. Nominations for the Gores, Dinkelspiel, Cuthbertson, and Cox Medal awards, are now open. The deadline for the Gores, Dinkelspiel, and Cuthbertson Awards is Monday, April 4, 2016. The deadline for the Cox Medal Award is Monday, April 18, 2016.

How to Nominate. For the Gores, Dinkelspiel, and Cuthbertson awards, write a letter to the Subcommittee on University Honors, c/o Office of the University Registrar, 482 Galvez Mall, Suite 120, Stanford, CA 94305-6032. Email nominations and letters are accepted and may be sent to Laura Remillard, The letter may be brief, but to be effective must clearly explain why the candidate is deserving of the award. All nomination letters must include the name and position of the nominator and clearly describe the exceptional contributions that make the nominee deserving of this award. In general, multiple letters (perhaps three to ten) are most successful, but individual nominations are also most welcome. Nominations will be active for two years, and require at least one new and/or updated letters of support in order to be considered in the second year. All letters must be sent directly to Laura Remillard,

Selection Process. Nominations are presented to the Committee on Undergraduate Standards and Policy.