Skip to content Skip to navigation


The Faculty Senate and the Office of the Academic Secretary



The 48th Senate is now is session

The 48th Senate of the Academic Council is chaired by Kathryn Moler, Professor of Physics and Applied Physics. She is an experienced participant in Stanford faculty governance, having served on the Senate, the Steering Committee, the Committee on Committees and the Committee on Undergraduate Admissions and Financial Aid. 



Next Faculty Senate meeting to be held on June 9th.

The next Faculty Senate meeting will be on June 9th, click here to view the agenda.

Recent News from the Faculty Senate

Steering Committee of the 49th Faculty Senate

The members of the 49th Senate have elected the following Steering Committee for 2016-17:

Debra Satz, Chair (Philosophy); Julie Parsonnet, Vice Chair (Med/Infectious Diseases); Stacey Bent (Chemical Engineering); Patricia Burchat (Physics); Margot Gerritsen (Energy Resources Engineering); Bernadette Meyler (Law); Ross Shachter (Management Science and Engineering); Stephen Stedman (FSI); John Etchemendy (Provost, Ex-officio); Hans Weiler (Academic Secretary, Ex-officio); Adrienne Emory (Assistant Academic Secretary, Staff). 

The Steering Committee is responsible for preparing the meetings and the agenda of the Senate and for following up on the Senate’s decisions. It meets every other week during the academic year at 11:45 am on Tuesdays.

Senate Chair presents annual report to the Academic Council

At the May 12, 2016, meeting of the Academic Council, Professor Kathryn Ann Moler, Chair of the 48th Faculty Senate, presented her report on the Senate’s activities dring the past year and on the importance of academic governance in the life of the university. 

A present for John Hennessy from the Faculty Senate

Concluding her annual report to the Academic Council on May 12, the Chair of the 48th Faculty Senate, Professor Kathryn Ann Moler (Applied Physics) surprised President Hennessy with a special present from the Senate: A souvenir book with personal recollections of the seventeen Senate Chairs and three Academic Secretaries who served during Hennessy’s tenure as president between 2000 and 2016, recounting their favorite memories of working and debating with the President in the Senate. A .pdf copy of the book, which provides a unique perspective on Stanford’s recent academic history, is available here.

Senate unanimously approves Resolution on the assessment and prevention of sexual violence on campus

At its meeting on April 28, the 48th Senate, after an extensive debate, unanimously approved a resolution confirming the value of the data collected in Stanford’s Campus Climate Survey of 2015 and supporting a range of measures for the prevention of sexual violence on campus and the further development of educational programs on sexual and relationship violence. The text of the Resolution, which was submitted by the Senate’s Steering Committee, can be found here .

The 49th Senate elects Chair and Vice Chair for 2016-17

The members of the 49th Senate have elected Debra Satz (Philosophy) as Senate Chair, and Julie Parsonnet (Medicine) as Vice Chair for the academic year 2016-17.

Debra Satz, the Marta Sutton Weeks Professor of Ethics in Society, is the senior associate dean for the humanities and arts. A philosophy professor with a courtesy appointment in political science, she earned her bachelor’s degree from City College of New York and her doctorate from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. From 2008-2014 she served as faculty director of the Bowen McCoy Family Center for Ethics in Society. Her research focuses on the ethical limits of markets, the nature of equality, theories of rational choice, and ethics and education. In 2004, Satz received the Walter J. Gores Award, Stanford’s highest teaching honor. She co-founded the Hope House Scholars Program through which Stanford faculty teach liberal arts courses to residents of a drug and alcohol treatment facility. She received the Roland Prize in 2010 for faculty service for this program. Among her publications are Why Some Things Should Not Be for Sale: The Moral Limits of Markets (Oxford University Press, 2010); (co-ed.) Occupy the Future (MIT Press, 2012); and Economic Analysis, Moral Philosophy and Public Policy (forthcoming, Cambridge, 2016) (with Dan Hausman and Michael McPherson.) She has served as a Senate member for several terms and has been a member of the Steering Committee and the Committee on Committees.

Julie Parsonnet is the George DeForest Barnett Professor of Medicine, and holds a joint appointment in the Departments of Medicine (Infectious Diseases) and Health Research and Policy (Epidemiology).  She has served as the Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education, and is a Resident Fellow in Robinson House. 


2015-16 Schedule of Meetings of Senate XLVIII
School of Law, Room 180, Thursday, 3:15pm 

The Senate meets biweekly during the academic year. Senators should be aware that if special meetings of the Senate need to be scheduled, which occurs infrequently, they will be scheduled on the intervening Thursdays. 

If you are a Stanford community member interested in attending a Senate meeting please contact Adrienne Emory at

Agendas and Minutes as they become available, can be viewed by clicking on the dates below.

Autumn Quarter Winter Quarter Spring Quarter


Agenda     Minutes


Agenda     Minutes


Agenda     Minutes


Executive Session


Agenda     Minutes


Agenda     Minutes


Agenda     Minutes


Agenda     Minutes


Academic Council


Agenda     Minutes


Agenda     Minutes


Agenda     Minutes


Agenda     Minutes



Agenda     Minutes

Administrative Sessions of the Steering Committee on Behalf of the Senate 

The Steering Committee (StC) holds administrative sessions as needed to hear routine or administrative matters that would otherwise come before the full Senate.  This allows the Senate to spend more time on issues that need broader discussion and debate prior to action. All Senators are welcome to attend administrative sessions. 

Spring Quarter



For web related questions, please contact Brian Bretz at