Scientific Advisory Committee


Role and Charter of the SSRL SAC


The SSRL Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) reports to and advises the SSRL Director on issues related to:

  • Operation of SSRL as a scientific user facility
  • Planning, construction and operation of new SSRL facilities
  • Long-term scientific directions of SSRL

Membership and Officers

  • SAC consists of 12 external members, and representatives from the following SSRL committees serve on the SAC in an Ex Officio capacity
    • Co-Chairs of the SSRL Proposal Review Panel (PRP)
    • Chair of the Structural Molecular Biology Advisory Committee (SMBAC)
    • Chair of the SSRL Users' Organization Executive Committee (SSRLUOEC)
  • SAC members are appointed by the SSRL Director for 3-year terms, with one third of the members rotating off and being replaced every year
    • Membership may be extended, e.g., to stagger rotation periods of members
  • The SAC Chair is appointed by the SSRL Director


  • The SAC meets periodically as needed, at minimum once a year. The meeting agenda is set by the SSRL Director in close coordination with the SAC Chair
  • Before each meeting, the SSRL Director will outline a specific charge to the SAC and the advice sought from the SAC.


  • The advice of the SAC is conveyed to SSRL management at the end of each meeting, and documented in a short written communication to the SSRL Director, with a copy to the SLAC Director.

Committee Member

Simon Bare
Des Plaines, IL
Lisa Miller
Brookhaven National Laboratory
National Synchrotron Light Source
Upton, NY
Alexander Fohlisch
Institute of Methods and Instrumentation
in synchrotron Radiation Research
Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin
Berlin, Germany
Harald Reichert
European Synchrotron Radiation Facility
Grenoble, France
Bruce Gates
University of California at Davis
Department of Chemical Engineering and
Materials Science
Davis, CA
Dave Robin
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Advanced Light Source
Berkeley, CA
Harry B. Gray
Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
California Institute of Technology
Pasadena, CA
Ilme Schlichting
Max Planck Institute for Medical Research
Department of Biomolecular Mechanisms
Heidelberg, Germany
Franz J. Himpsel
Physics Department
University of Wisconsin Madison
Madison, WI
Edward Snell
Hauptman-Woodward Medical Research Facility
Buffalo, NY
Sine Larsen
Kemisk Institute
University of Copenhagen
Copenhagen, Denmark
Edgar Weckert (SAC Chair)
Photon Science
Hamburg, Germany
Christian Mailhiot
Washington State University
Institute for Shock Physics
Center for Integrated Modeling and Simulation
Pullman, WA


Find Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource on FlickrFind Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource on YouTubeFind Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource on Twitter