Administration & Finances

University Governance and Organization

Stanford University is a trust with corporate powers under the laws of the State of California. The university is a tax-exempt entity under section 501(c)3 of the Internal Revenue Code. Under the provisions of the Founding Grant, the Board of Trustees (with a maximum membership of 38) is custodian of the endowment and all the properties of Stanford University. The board administers the invested funds, sets the annual budget and determines policies for operation and control of the university. Among the powers given to the trustees by the Founding Grant is the power to appoint a president. The board delegates broad authority to the president to operate the university and to the faculty on certain academic matters. The formal legal name is “The Board of Trustees of the Leland Stanford Junior University.”

Stanford Health Care, previously known as Stanford Hospital & Clinics, and Lucile Packard Children's Hospital Stanford, are nonprofit California corporations. They are separate from the university and from one another.


Stanford University is accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Senior Colleges and Universities of the Western Association of Schools and Colleges.

Board of Trustees

as of September 1, 2016

  • Fred W. Alvarez, Partner, Jones Day, Palo Alto, CA
  • Mary T. Barra, Chief Executive Officer, General Motors, Detroit, MI
  • Robert M. Bass, President, Keystone Group LP, Fort Worth, TX
  • Brook H. Byers, Partner, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers, Menlo Park, CA
  • Bret E. Comolli, Chairman, Asurion Corporation, Atherton, CA
  • RoAnn Costin, President, Wilderness Point Investments, Cambridge, MA
  • James G. Coulter, Founding Partner, TPG Capital, LP, San Francisco, CA
  • Dipanjan Deb, CEO & Co-Founder, Francisco Partners, San Francisco, CA
  • Steven A. Denning, Chairman, General Atlantic LLC, Greenwich, CT
  • Angela S. Filo, Co-Founder, Yellow Chair Foundation, Palo Alto, CA
  • Sakurako D. Fisher, San Francisco, CA
  • Bradley A. Geier, Co-Managing Partner, Merlone Geier Partners, San Diego, CA
  • John A. Gunn, Former Chairman and CEO, Dodge and Cox, San Francisco, CA
  • Gail B. Harris, Retired Partner, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP, New York, NY
  • Christine U. Hazy, Co-Founder and Managing Director, Sketch Foundation, Los Angeles, CA
  • Ronald B. Johnson, Founder & CEO, Enjoy, Menlo Park, CA
  • Tonia G. Karr, San Francisco, CA
  • Bernard Liautaud, General Partner, Balderton Capital, London, UK
  • Christy O. MacLear, CEO, Robert Rauschenberg Foundation, New York, NY
  • Susan R. McCaw, President, COM Investments, Santa Barbara, CA
  • Lloyd M. Metz, Managing Director, ICV Partners, New York, NY
  • Hamid R. Moghadam, Chairman & CEO, Prologis, Inc., San Francisco, CA
  • Kenneth E. Olivier, Chairman Emeritus, Dodge and Cox, San Francisco, CA
  • Ruth M. Porat, Chief Financial Officer, Alphabet Inc. and Google Inc., Mountain View, CA
  • Laurene Powell Jobs, Founder/Chair, Emerson Collective, Palo Alto, CA
  • Jeffrey S. Raikes, Co-Founder, The Raikes Foundation, Seattle, WA
  • Mindy B. Rogers, Atherton, CA
  • Victoria B. Rogers, President, Rose Hills Foundation, Pasadena, CA
  • Kavitark Ram Shriram, Founder, Sherpalo Ventures, Menlo Park, CA
  • Ronald P. Spogli, Founding Partner, Freeman Spogli & Co., Los Angeles, CA
  • Srinija Srinivasan, Palo Alto, CA
  • Isaac Stein, President, Waverley Associates, Atherton, CA
  • Thomas F. Steyer, Founder, NextGen Climate, San Francisco, CA
  • Gene T Sykes, Global Co-Head of M&A & Chairman, Goldman Sachs Group, Inc., Los Angeles, CA
  • Marc Tessier-Lavigne, President, Stanford University, Stanford, CA
  • Vaughn C. Williams, Retired Partner, Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom, New York, NY

Stanford Administration

  • Marc Tessier-Lavigne, President
  • John Etchemendy, Provost
  • David Demarest, Vice President for Public Affairs
  • Randall S. Livingston, Vice President for Business Affairs and Chief Financial Officer
  • William J. Madia, Vice President, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
  • Robert Reidy, Vice President for Land, Buildings and Real Estate
  • Martin Shell, Vice President for Development
  • Howard Wolf, Vice President for Alumni Affairs and President, Stanford Alumni Association
  • Elizabeth Zacharias, Vice President for Human Resources
  • Debra Zumwalt, Vice President and General Counsel


  • Ann Arvin, Vice Provost and Dean of Research
  • Persis Drell, Dean, School of Engineering
  • Harry Elam, Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education
  • Thomas Gilligan, Director, Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace
  • Patricia Gumport, Vice Provost for Graduate Education
  • Chi-Chang Kao, Director, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory
  • M. Elizabeth Magill, Dean, School of Law
  • Pamela Matson, Dean, School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences
  • Lloyd Minor, Dean, School of Medicine
  • Richard Saller, Dean, School of Humanities & Sciences
  • Garth Saloner, Dean, Graduate School of Business
  • Dan Schwartz, Dean, Graduate School of Education


In 2015, 11,481 staff members supported teaching, learning and research at Stanford, including 6,248 managerial and professional staff, 2,881 clerical and technical staff, and 963 service and maintenance staff. There are 1,389 employees at the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory. For more information about working at Stanford, visit

This page last modified Sep 07, 2016.