SSRL Users' Organization

Charter | Committee Members | Committee Meetings

2016 Joe Wong Poster Award Winners
Blaine Mooers, SSRL UEC, and Petra Fromme, LCLS UEC (2nd from left) presenting Joe Wong Poster Awards to (from left) Camila Bacellar, Fang Ren, and Anna Wise.

The SSRL Users' Organization (SSRLUO) is broadly concerned with representing the interests of the SSRL users (see Charter); its opinions are its own and do not necessarily reflect those of SLAC or the DOE.

Users elect members to serve on the Users' Executive Committee (UEC)  to carry out the business of the SSRLUO. The UEC is the formal organizational unit of the SSRLUO. They host an annual users' meeting which provides a forum for the presentation and discussion of user research and facility developments as well as future plans. Since 2007, the annual users' meeting has been a joint SSRL and LCLS users' conference.

UEC members serve 3-year terms, with the Chair and Vice-Chair elected by the UEC (Chair serves for 1 year; Vice-Chair rotates into the chair position the following year; former Chair serves as ex-officio for 2 additional years). The UEC Chair serve as an ex-officio role on advisory panels such as the SSRL Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) and the LCLS Users' Executive Committee (LCLS UEC). The Vice Chair co-organizes the annual user's meeting along with the LCLS UEC Vice Chair and scientific staff members appointed by SSRL and LCLS.

The SSRL UEC functions include:

  • meeting periodically (schedule) to discuss issues of interest to the user community (notes);
  • coordinating users' meetings and workshops to facilitate interactions and training;
  • coordinating a poster session to encourage users, particularly students, to share their research results or new techniques, and serving as judges of the Joe Wong Poster Awards;
  • promoting, selecting recipients, and presenting the Farrel W. Lytle Award and the Melvin P. Klein Scientific Development Award which recognize important contributions or accomplishments from the user community;
  • encouraging user feedback and considering user suggestions;
  • coordinating activities with the LCLS UEC and representatives from other national user facilities, including the National User Facility Organization (NUFO),  to increase awareness and support for basic sciences and the role of user facilities.

The SSRL UEC welcomes user feedback, and suggestions regarding user concerns that should be addressed by the Executive Committee are always welcome. Please reference the SSRL UEC page for a list of current representatives and contact information.

Stay informed about SSRL news & events:  Subscribe to SSRL Headline News by sending an e-mail to with "subscribe ssrl-headlines" in the body.


Invited Speakers -  Plenary Session, Thursday, September 28:

  • Henry Chapman (Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron)
  • Serena DeBeer (Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion):  High resolution x-ray spectroscopic studies of intermediates in biological methane oxidation

Parallel Workshops -  Wednesday, September 27 & Friday, September 29:



View previous conference programs for 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013 and 2012.

Find Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource on FlickrFind Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource on YouTubeFind Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource on Twitter