William E. and Diane M. Spicer Young Investigator Award

William E. and Diane M. Spicer Young Investigator AwardWilliam E. Spicer (1929-2004) was an esteemed member of the international scientific community as a teacher and researcher in electrical engineering, applied physics and materials science. Bill spent 40 years as a professor at Stanford where he pioneered the technique of ultraviolet photoemission spectroscopy and its subsequent expansion into the use of synchrotron radiation. In 1972, Bill together with Sebastian Doniach founded the Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Project which evolved into today's SSRL. He was a prolific author with over 700 works and the recipient of many honors and awards including the Lifetime Mentor Award by the AAAS in 2000, reflecting his tireless effort on the behalf of under-represented minorities and women. Though retired for some years, Bill continued to actively advise students at SSRL up until his death.

In honor of his many professional and personal contributions to our community, SSRL and the SSRL Users' Organization established the William E. Spicer Young Investigator Award in 2004. The award was modified in 2009 to accept additional donations to acknowledge and honor Diane M. Spicer, who passed away in April 2009.

William E. and Diane M. Spicer Young Investigator AwardThe Spicer Young Investigator Award will be presented to a new investigator who has made important technical or scientific contributions that benefit from or are beneficial to SSRL or to the lightsource community overall. The $1,000 award is open to senior graduate students and those within seven years of entry into their professional scientific field at the time of nomination. SSRL users and staff are eligible for this award (joint or group awards are not encouraged). The Award will presented at the next Annual Users' Meeting, to be held September 25-28, 2018.

In recognition of her foundational superconductor research, Ming Yi, assistant professor of physics and astronomy at Rice University, will be awarded the 2018 William E. and Diane M. Spicer Young Investigator Award. Ming says the award is of special significance to her because she thinks of Bill Spicer as her academic grandfather. A Stanford professor of 40 years and researcher in electrical engineering, applied physics and materials science, Spicer co-founded the Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Project in 1972, which became SSRL. Spicer actively mentored students until his death in 2004.“This is a very humbling honor for my scientific endeavors as I continue my academic career, and I deeply appreciate SSRL’s commitment to nurturing young researchers in the frontiers of scientific exploration,” Yi says. “I am very grateful to all the mentors who have given me advice, support and encouragement, and who have inspired me and still inspire me every day.”

Awardee names are added to a plaque displayed in the SSRL User Research Administration Office. The following people have received the William E. and Diane M. Spicer Young Investigator Award:

  • Ming Yi, Rice University (formerly University of California Berkeley) (2018)
  • Kathryn Hastie, The Scripps Research Institute (2017)
  • Yijin Liu, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory (2016)
  • Feng Lin, Virginia Tech (formerly LBNL) (2015)
  • Ying Diao, University of Illinois (formerly Stanford) (2014)
  • Jonathan Rivnay, Centre Microelectronique de Provence (2013)
  • James Cryan, Stanford University/SLAC (2012)
  • Stefan Mannsfeld, TU Dresden (formerly Stanford/SLAC) (2011)
  • Jeffrey Lee, The Scripps Research Institute (2010)
  • Yulin Chen, University of Oxford (formerly SIMES) (2009)
  • R. Joseph Kline, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) (2008)
  • Hugh Harris, University of Adelaide (2007)
  • Adrian Cavalieri, Max Planck Institute (formerly University of Michigan) (2006, joint award)
  • David Fritz, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory (formerly University of Michigan) (2006, joint award)
  • Stephane Richard, CureMatch Inc. (formerly Salk Institute for Biological Studies) (2005)
  • N. Peter Armitage, Johns Hopkins University (2004)

Nomination packages should summarize the technical or scientific contributions of the candidate, including the candidate's curriculum vitae, publications, and a letter of nomination (supporting letters are also encouraged). Nomination packages need to be received by JULY 1 to be considered. Forward nominations to Cathy Knotts via e-mail, regular mail or fax:

Cathy Knotts
Manager, User Research Administration
SLAC National Accelerator, SSRL/LCLS
2575 Sand Hill Road, MS 69
Menlo Park, CA 94025
Tel. 650-926-3191
Fax. 650-926-3600

Nominations received by the July 1 deadline will be reviewed by the selection committee. The Award will be presented at the Users' Meeting. The awardee will be asked to give a presentation on his/her research during the Users' Conference.

Thank you in advance for taking the time to forward your nomination and for your continuing support of the SSRL Users' Organization.



Donations towards the William E. and Diane M. Spicer Award fund can be sent by check, made payable to "Stanford University" (noting "Spicer Award" on the memo line), to SSRL c/o Cathy Knotts, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, 2575 Sand Hill Road MS 99, Menlo Park, CA 94025. Alternatively, if you would like to make a gift by credit card, please phone 866-543-0243 (toll free) Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST to reach a customer service representative who can help you. Please specify that your gift is designated for "The SSRL Spicer Award." Callers from outside the US, please phone 650-724-0627 (not toll free).

Find Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource on FlickrFind Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource on YouTubeFind Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource on Twitter