You are here

SUL Opens Submissions for 2014 William Saroyan International Prize for Writing



William Saroyan

Stanford University Libraries, in partnership with the William Saroyan Foundation, announced the launch of the sixth William Saroyan International Prize for Writing (Saroyan Prize). Intended to encourage new or emerging writers and honor the Saroyan literary legacy of originality, vitality and stylistic innovation, the Saroyan Prize recognizes newly published works of both fiction and non-fiction.

A prize of $5,000 will be awarded in each of these categories. Literary fiction, including novels, short story collections, and drama, will be eligible for consideration for the Saroyan Fiction Prize. Literary non-fiction of any length is eligible for consideration for the Saroyan Non-fiction Prize, most particularly writing in the Saroyan tradition: memoirs, portraits, and excursions into neighborhood and community. Entries in either category are limited to English language publications that are available for individual purchase by the general public.

Entries must be received on or before January 31, 2014. Official entry forms and rules are available here.

"It is Stanford University Libraries' duty and privilege to once again honor William Saroyan's literary legacy by awarding The William Saroyan International Prize for Writing," said Michael A. Keller, Stanford University Librarian. "The prize is a welcome opportunity to engage with a stellar team of alumni who serve as reviewers and judges, and to learn about and engage with remarkable emerging authors, all while highlighting the talents of Saroyan himself."


Stanford University Libraries, News Release, September 10, 2013

Recent news

December 9, 2015

December 9, 2015