You are here

2015 ENCORE Award

Jack Ma, Alibaba Group: Stanford GSB 2015 Entrepreneurial Company of the Year
Jack Ma, Alibaba Group: Stanford GSB 2015 Entrepreneurial Company of the Year
At the 38th annual ENCORE Award event on September 24, 2015, the Stanford Graduate School of Business honored Alibaba Group.

The Stanford GSB Alumni Association is proud to announce that Alibaba Group has been named the recipient of the 2015 ENCORE Award for its remarkable entrepreneurial spirit and pioneering work in e-commerce. Lead Founder and Executive Chairman Jack Ma discussed entrepreneurship in a fireside chat with Yahoo! founder Jerry Yang, BS/MS ’90 on September 24. 

About Alibaba Group

Alibaba Group
Alibaba Group, founded in 1999 and headquartered in Hangzhou, China, operates leading online and mobile marketplaces in both the retail and wholesale trade. They provide technology solutions and services to enable consumers, merchants, and other participants to conduct commerce on their platform. In September 2014, the company debuted the largest IPO in the world at $25 billion.

Keynote Speaker

Jack Ma
Jack Ma, Executive Chairman, Alibaba Group

Jack is the lead founder and, since May 2013, has served as the executive chairman. From the founding in 1999 until May 2013, Jack served as chairman and chief executive officer.

Jack currently serves on the board of SoftBank Corp., one of the major shareholders and a Japanese corporation listed on the Tokyo Stock Exchange. He is also chair of The Nature Conservancy’s China board of directors and a member of its global board of directors. In September 2013, he joined the Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences Foundation as a director. In August 2014, Jack was elected to the Foundation Board of the World Economic Forum. Jack graduated from Hangzhou Teacher’s Institute with a major in English language education.

About ENCORE Award

The Entrepreneurial Company of the Year (ENCORE) Award was created in the late 1970s by the Bay Area Chapter of the GSB Alumni Association, when they saw an opportunity to recognize the entrepreneurial spirit of the companies springing up in the Silicon Valley. The first honor was given to the CEO of ROLM Corporation in 1977.

Although the award was originally designed to honor an individual, it soon became clear that a company’s success was based on the contributions of many people. Accordingly, the award was changed to the Entrepreneurial Company of the Year in 1982. Additionally, the scope of the award has been widened to recognize best in class entrepreneurs from throughout the world, and is no longer limited to Silicon Valley.

2015 ENCORE Award Selection Committee


  • Geoff Yang, MBA ’85, Redpoint Ventures


  • Peter Fenton, AB ’94, MBA ’00, Benchmark Capital
  • J. Stuart Francis, MBA ’77, Evercore Partners
  • Charles A. Holloway, Stanford GSB Faculty, Emeritus
  • Jeffrey Dalton Jordan, MBA ‘87, General Partner at Andreessen Horowitz
  • Stephen T. Jurvetson, BS ’89, MS ’89, MBA ’95, Draper Fisher Jurvetson
  • Joseph S. Lacob, MBA ’83, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers
  • Frank Quattrone, MBA ’81, Qatalyst Partners
  • David L. Sze, MBA ’93, Greylock Management
  • Peter Wendell, Sierra Ventures

ENCORE Award Recipients

2014 Netflix
2013 Tesla
2012 LinkedIn
2011 Twitter
2010 Amazon
2008 Gilead Sciences
2007 SunPower Corporation
2006 Network Appliance, Inc.
2005 Apple
2004 Google Inc
2003 NVIDIA Corporation
2002 VERITAS Software Corporation
2001 Siebel Systems, Inc.
2000 eBay, Inc.
1999 Charles Schwab & Co., Inc
1998 Yahoo!
1997 Ascend Communications
1996 Netscape Communications
1995 Intuit, Inc.
1994 Cisco Systems, Inc.
1993 Electronic Arts
1992 Borland International, Inc.
1991 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
1990 Octel Communications Corp.
1989 Acuson Corporation
1988 Cypress Semiconductor
1987 Sun Microsystems
1986 LSI Logic
1985 Quantum Corporation
1984 Seagate Technology
1983 Genentech, Inc.
1982 Dysan Corporation, Inc.
1981 Apple Computer, Inc.
1980 Tandem Computers, Inc.
1979 Qume Corporation
1978 California Microwave, Inc.
1977 ROLM Corporation