Seven Stanford faculty receive Sloan Research Fellowships

Seven Stanford faculty members are among the American and Canadian scholars to receive Sloan Research Fellowships for 2014.

Awarded annually since 1955, the fellowships are given to researchers whose achievements and potential identify them as the next generation of scientific leaders, according to a press release issued by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

“For more than half a century, the Sloan Foundation has been proud to honor the best young scientific minds and support them during a crucial phase of their careers when early funding and recognition can really make a difference,” said PAUL L. JOSKOW, president of the foundation. “These researchers are pushing the boundaries of scientific knowledge in unprecedented ways.”

The Stanford faculty in this year’s class of 126 researchers are:

THOMAS MARKLAND, assistant professor of chemistry

MARIA BARNA, assistant professor of genetics and developmental biology

ANSHUL KUNDAJE, assistant professor of genetics and of computer science

JULIA SALZMAN, assistant professor of biochemistry

JAKUB KASTL, assistant professor of economics

LIANG FENG, assistant professor of molecular and cellular physiology

MONIKA SCHLEIER-SMITH, assistant professor of physics

Awarded in eight scientific and technical fields – chemistry, computer science, economics, mathematics, evolutionary and computational molecular biology, neuroscience, ocean sciences, and physics – the Sloan Research Fellowships are awarded through close cooperation with the scientific community.

Candidates must be nominated by their fellow scientists. Winning fellows are selected by an independent panel of senior scholars on the basis of a candidate’s independent research accomplishments, creativity and potential to become a leader in his or her field. Fellows receive $50,000 to further their research.

For a complete list of winners, visit the fellowship website.