Skip to content Skip to navigation

50th Anniversary Symposium and Celebration

Celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2008, the department of Aeronautics and Astronautics hosted a daylong symposium and celebration, featuring faculty, alumni and colleagues. 

Presentations and posters from the event are listed below.

See our photo gallery of the events, as well as a department history.



Jan Achenbach - Northwest University
From the Sputnik Era to the Present: Adventures in Engineering Science of One AA Alum

Andy Barrows - Mercury Computer Systems
GPS, Flight Displays, and Air Traffic Control Modernization

Francis Everitt - Stanford University
Gravity Probe B, the Engineering of a Physics Experiment in Space and the Role of Students in it

Ilan Kroo - Stanford University
Sustainable Aviation

Susan Ying - Boeing
To Boldly Go....Leading Beyond the Horizon

Vance Coffman - Lockheed Martin (ret)
The F35 Lightning II

Arif Karabeyoglu - Space Propulsion Group
Hybrid Propulsion for Future Space Launch

Steve Rock - Stanford University
Robotic Exploration

Three Generations in Aerospace
William F. Ballhaus Sr. - Northrop Corp. and Beckman Instruments (ret)
William F. Ballhaus Jr. - Aerospace Corp. (ret)
William L. Ballhaus - BAE Systems
Integrated Networked Systems 2000s - Future

Penina Axelrad - University of Colorado
Challenges and Opportunities in Aerospace Education

Panel Discussion - Aerospace: The Next 25 Years
Brad Parkinson, Prof. Emeritus, Stanford University

Panel Members:
Turki Saud Mohammed Al-Saud, KACST
Owen Brown, DARPA
Heinz Erzberger, NASA Ames Research Center, Stanford University



Space Systems Development Lab
(Prof. Cutler)

Hybrid Systems Lab
(Prof. Tomlin)

Aerospace Robotics Lab
(Prof. Rock)

Aero Fluid Mechanics Labs
(Prof. Cantwell)

Structures & Composites Lab
(Prof. Chang)

Flow Physics and Computation
(Prof. Farhat)

Prof. Lele's Group

(Dr. Sun)

Aerospace Computing Lab
(Prof. Jameson)

Aerospace Design Lab
(Prof. Alonso)

Space Systems Development Lab
(Prof. Cutler)

Gravity Probe B Project (GP-B)
(Profs. DeBra & Everitt)

Aircraft Design Group
(Prof. Kroo)

(Prof. Enge)