Skip to content

2015 Richard W. Lyman Award Winner

Jeff Koseff, MS '78, PhD '83

The Perry L. McCarty Director of the Woods Institute for the Environment at Stanford University, The Michael Forman University Fellow in Undergraduate Education and The William Alden Campbell and Martha Campbell Professorship in the School of Engineering.

Jeff has a long standing relationship with the Stanford Alumni Association. He has participated in countless different events all around the world engaging alumni, parents and students. Jeff has led trips as far away as Australia, Canada, South Africa, and New Zealand with our Travel/Study program. He has spoken to vacationing alumni at Sierra Camp, captivated alumni celebrating their reunions at Classes Without Quizzes, travelled around the nation speaking to our alumni clubs, and even captured the attention of scores of alumni at premier programs like Leading Matters and Think Again.

Jeff's research focuses on aquatic environments and the environmental fluid mechanics within them. He has been instrumental in developing the vision for interdisciplinary work on environmental issues at Stanford, and an asset to the Stanford Alumni Association's programming.

Leslie Kim, '98, a senior manager for Travel/Study says this about Jeff after their trip to New Zealand, "Jeff is one of the most accessible, warm and enthusiastic professors I've had the pleasure to work with. His knowledge and expertise are unquestionably great, but more than that, he makes himself available to his students (be they undergraduates or alumni) in all capacities."

The Stanford Alumni Association presents Jeff with the 2015 Richard W. Lyman Award at a private dinner on January 20, 2016.

About the Richard W. Lyman Award

The Richard W. Lyman Award was established in 1983 in President Emeritus Richard W. Lyman's honor. The Award recognizes one outstanding faculty member for extraordinary service to the alumni community and Stanford Alumni Association programs. Recipients generously donate time to alumni, go beyond the expectations of University appointments and embody the mission of Stanford Alumni Association.

Past Winners

Margot Gerritsen
Associate professor of energy resources engineering, and director of the Institute for Computational and Mathematical Engineering at Stanford

Larry Diamond
Senior fellow at the Hoover Institution and the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies and director of the Center on Democracy, Development, and the Rule of Law. He is also the Peter E. Haas Faculty co-director of the Haas Center for Public Service at Stanford.

Hank Greely
Deane F. and Kate Edelman Johnson Professor of Law

Lyman P. Van Slyke
Professor of History, Emeritus

Al Camarillo
Professor of History, Miriam and Peter Haas Centennial Professor in Public Service and Special Assistant to the Provost for Faculty Diversity

Rob Dunbar
W.M. Keck Professor in the School of Earth Sciences, Victoria P. and Roger W. Sant Director of the Earth Systems Program and senior fellow at the Woods Institute for the Environment

See all »