Afiara String Quartet & Cecilia String Quartet

Afiara String Quartet & Cecilia String Quartet

Sunday, May 19, 2013 | 2:30 pm
Bing Concert Hall

$25.00–60.00 (Adult) | $10.00 (Stanford Student)
$18.00–50.40 (Other Student)
$10.00–28.00 (Youth Under 18)

The Afiara and Cecilia String Quartets, first introduced to campus through Stanford’s own St. Lawrence String Quartet, collaborate on a unique program of works for quintet and octet. Both Canadian ensembles have risen to international recognition in recent years, winning notable competitions—Cecilia won the Banff International String Quartet Competition in 2010, and Afiara won the Concert Artists Guild International Competition in 2008—and have earned critical acclaim for their refreshing interpretations of classic repertoire. Here, two “viola quintets” by Mozart and Brahms are counterbalanced by Mendelssohn’s substantial octet, composed when he was just 16.


Mozart: String Quintet No.1 in Bb Major, K174 (1773); Brahms: String Quintet No.2 in G Major, Op.111 (1890); Mendelssohn: String Octet in Eb Major, Op.20 (1825)