Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra

Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra

Program 1: The World of ‘The Four Seasons’
Nicholas McGegan, conductor

Wednesday, January 16, 2013 | 8:00 pm
Bing Concert Hall

$25.00–95.00 (Adult) | $10.00 (Stanford Student)
$22.50–85.50 (Other Student)
$12.50–47.50 (Youth Under 18)

“A model of how to bring works of the period alive” —Chicago Tribune

Vivaldi’s beloved set of violin concerti known as “The Four Seasons” is perhaps the culmination of the middle Baroque period of Italian music, which embraced two parallel lineages in Northern Italy and Naples. Corelli was a pivotal figure, a virtuoso violinist whose influence on training in violin performance influenced all who came after him, especially his Northern Italian pupils Locatelli and Vivaldi. At the same time, another Italian music center in Naples produced composers such as Durante and his pupil Pergolesi, whose contributions ranged from sacred music to opera buffa.


Corelli: Concerto Grosso Op. 6, No. 7 in D major; Pergolesi: Sinfonia in F major; Vivaldi: Le quattro stagioni [The Four Seasons]; Locatelli: Concerto Grosso Op. 7, No. 6 in E-flat major, “Il pianto d’Arianna”; Durante: Concerto No. 5 in A major



Tickets & Information

buyJan 16, 2013
8:00 pm

Parking & Directions »

Seating Chart »


Philharmonia Baroque website


Elizabeth Blumenstock on the Baroque violin
View a larger version »