OFDD offers a series of faculty awards throughout the year to support the advancement of a diverse and inclusive Stanford Medicine faculty community and to encourage the study of underrepresented populations in medicine. Recognizing the successes of our faculty is important to OFDD as we honor our faculty’s myriad accomplishments.

Dr. Augustus A. White and Family Faculty Professionalism Award

The Dr. Augustus A. White III and Family Faculty Professionalism award serves to recognize outstanding work in helping to reduce health disparities or to enhance the effectiveness of minorities in the university community through research, education, mentoring or service. The Stanford faculty members selected and honored with the award are distinguished by their leadership in either: developing programs to support underrepresented early career faculty, fellows or residents or, for research or teaching that affects underrepresented minority outcomes.

OFDD solicits nominations for this faculty award from all faculty, students, and staff at Stanford. Started in 2011 and awarded every other year, recipients receive a $1,500 financial award.

HCOE/OFDD Faculty Fellowship

This annual fellowship is sponsored by the Office of Faculty Development and Diversity (OFDD), and funded through the Hispanic Center of Excellence (HCOE) grant. The purpose of the fellowship is to help advance the careers of junior faculty from underrepresented backgrounds as well as those with academic research in health disparities. Faculty apply directly for the award, which provides a one-time stipend of $20,000 in support of salary, and $5,000 for travel and supplies. In addition, HCOE/OFDD Fellows are provided the opportunity to participate in OFDD training opportunities that will advance their career development at Stanford.

2017 Recipients of the award

Cynthia De Tata, MD

Fatima Rodriguez, MD, MPH

McCormick and Gabilan Faculty Awards

The 2017 Call for Applications is closed. The next Call for Applications will be in March 2018.

The annual McCormick and Gabilan Faculty Awards provide research/project funding to junior faculty women for career advancement, or to junior faculty men or women who support the advancement of women in medicine through research. Faculty from all lines are encouraged to apply and must be within the first 7 years of their first faculty appointments. Recipients are awarded $30,000 for up to two years. In addition, McCormick and Gabilan Faculty Award winners are provided the opportunity to participate in OFDD training opportunities that will advance their career development at Stanford. This award is endowed through the legacy of Katharine D. McCormick. For the past two years, we have received generous support from Stanford University's Gabilan Fellowship to endow an additional 2 awardees each year.

2018 Recipients of the award

Victoria Cosgrove, PhD

Manali Patel, MD, MPH

Fatima Rodriguez, MD, MPH

Julia Simard, ScD

Elizabeth Egan, MD, PhD

Katrin Svensson, PhD

Mary Teruel, PhD

Xinnan Wang, PhD

Fernando Mendoza receives medical school's diversity award

Pediatrician Fernando Mendoza was recognized for his contributions to diversity and health-care equality.

Applications & Nominations

Application/nomination announcements are emailed to faculty when the annual submission process for each award opens. Further questions? 

Faculty Support

OFDD also supports the attendance of selected faculty at various external professional development seminars throughout the year.