Stanford University

News Service



CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Four Stanford scientists selected as 1996 AAAS Fellows

STANFORD -- Four Stanford scientists ­ Eugene A. Bauer, vice president and dean of Stanford Medical School; Stanley Falkow, professor of microbiology and immunology; Thomas J. R. Hughes, professor of mechanical engineering, and Robert M. Sapolsky, professor of biological sciences ­ are among the 283 members of the American Association for the Advancement of Science who have been elected fellows this year.

According to the AAAS, fellows are selected based on their efforts toward advancing science or fostering applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished. The new fellows will be presented with a certificate and pin in February during the association's annual meeting in Seattle.

Eugene A. Bauer

Bauer was appointed dean of the School of Medicine and the Carl and Elizabeth Naumann Professor in 1995. A graduate of Northwestern University Medical School, Bauer came to Stanford in 1988 from Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis.

Bauer is widely known for his work on epidermolysis bullosa (EB), a hereditary blistering skin disease, and on other disorders involving collagen. His research has led to a molecular-level understanding of EB and to new methods of treatment. He was instrumental in producing the first antiserum to human collagenase, the key enzyme in initiating collagen remodeling, both under normal circumstances and in diseases such as EB and basal cell cancer.

He is immediate past chairman of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) General Medicine study section, immediate past president of the Society of Investigative Dermatology, a member of the Advisory Council of the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases and numerous other scientific boards and committees. Recently, he was honored for his innovative research by the EB Medical Research Foundation and the Forever Young Foundation. He also has received an NIH M.E.R.I.T. award.

Stanley Falkow

Falkow is professor of microbiology and immunology and medicine at the School of Medicine. He received his doctoral degree from Brown University. Before coming to Stanford in 1981, Falkow was assistant chief of bacterial immunology at Walter Reed Army Institute of Research and a professor of microbiology at Georgetown University Medical School and at the University of Washington Medical School. At Stanford he was chairman of the Department of Medical Microbiology until 1985, when he became a professor in the departments of Microbiology and Immunology, and Medicine.

Falkow is recognized for his observations related to the molecular mechanisms of bacterial pathogenesis. In 1986 he was elected as a member of the National Academy of Sciences. He has been honored by the Surgical Infectious Diseases Society of America (Altemeier Medal, 1990) and by the Infectious Diseases Society of America (Squibb Award, 1979). He received the Howard Taylor Ricketts Award in 1995 and the Paul Ehrlich-Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize in 1981. He was elected and will serve as president of the American Society for Microbiology beginning July 1997.

Thomas J. R. Hughes

Hughes is a leading figure in the field of computational mechanics, where he has played an important role in increasing the power of a computer simulation approach called finite element analysis. In finite element analysis, a complex system is broken down into a large number of elements and these elements, and their interconnections, are modeled by a computer. He did some of the basic development work involved in extending finite element analysis from mechanical structures to fluid regimes, like air or water flows. As a result, it is now possible for engineers to build simulations of aircraft, automobiles and high-speed trains that include not only their mechanical and thermal behavior but also the behavior of the air flows that surround them. Hughes, who has published more than 300 papers, received his doctorate from the University of California-Berkeley in 1974 and, after teaching at Berkeley and the California Institute of Technology, came to Stanford in 1980.

Robert Sapolsky

Sapolsky is a professor of biological sciences and neuroscience and a leader in studies of the neuroendocrinology of stress. In the field, he documents the role of the stress response in the social behavior of wild baboons. In the lab, he studies how the glucocorticoids released in the brain during stress influence cell damage and the destruction of neurons.

Sapolsky received his doctoral degree from Rockefeller University and came to Stanford in 1987 after postdoctoral fellowships at Rockefeller and the Salk Institute. He has received a number of honors, including a MacArthur Fellowship, a Presidential Young Investigator award, an NIH Research Career Development award and Stanford's Bing Teaching Award. He is the author of a popular book on stress, Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers, and regularly contributes essays to Discover and The Sciences.



Download this release and its related files.

The release is provided in Adobe Acrobat format. Any images shown in the release are provided at publishing quality. Additional images also may be provided. Complete credit and caption information is included.

© Stanford University. All Rights Reserved. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300. Terms of Use | Copyright Complaints