Stanford University

News Service



CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Six Stanford faculty members elected 1996 APS Fellows

Six faculty and staff members have been elected 1996 fellows of the American Physical Society (APS).

The APS is an organization of more than 41,000 physicists worldwide. Since its formation in 1899, it has been dedicated to the advancement and diffusion of the knowledge of physics. The society publishes some of the world's leading physics research journals and organizes scientific meetings where new results are reported and discussed.

Each year half of 1 percent of the society's total members are selected for fellowship in the society by a competitive review and recommendation process. This year a total of 179 new fellows were chosen.

The new Stanford fellows are:

Blas Cabrera, professor and chairman of physics, "for his precision measurement of the Cooper pair mass in a superconductor and his search for dark matter in the forms of magnetically charged particles or weakly interacting massive particles."

Brian J. Cantwell, professor and associate chair of aeronautics and astronautics, "for basic contributions to recent developments in fluid dynamics, particularly in unsteady, viscous flow theory, from laminar and transitional jets to organized structures in turbulence."

Massimo "Max" Cornacchia, leader of the Accelerator Systems Department of the Synchrotron Division of the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, "for broad contributions to the development of several accelerators, particularly in the design and development of synchrotron light sources from the first generation through current studies on concepts for future sources."

Paul A. Durbin, research professor of mechanical engineering, "for his contributions to fluid mechanics in general and near-wall turbulence modeling in particular through innovative concepts and analyses."

John Irwin, physicist at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, "for significant contributions to the research, development and application of modern techniques of nonlinear dynamics to accelerator systems, in particular to electron-positron colliding beam devices."

Calvin F. Quate, the Leland T. Edwards Professor of Electrical Engineering, "For his co-creation of atomic force microscopy, his inventive developments of applications of scanning probe microscopies, and his critical role in bringing the technologies to industrial and academic use."


-By David F. Salisbury-

© Stanford University. All Rights Reserved. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300. Terms of Use | Copyright Complaints