National Academy of Medicine elects three from medical school

Amato Giaccia
Amato Giaccia is among three new members from Stanford of the National Academy of Medicine.

Three members of the School of Medicine faculty have been elected members of the National Academy of Medicine, formerly known as the Institute of Medicine.

GLENN CHERTOW, AMATO GIACCIA and ROBERT HARRINGTON are now among the academy’s 1,826 members and 137 international members.

Chertow is the Norman S. Coplon/Satellite Healthcare Professor in Medicine and chief of the Division of Nephrology. His research interests include clinical epidemiology, health-services research, decision sciences and clinical trials in acute and chronic kidney disease.

Giaccia, the Jack, Lulu, and Sam Willson Professor, is the associate director for basic science in the Stanford Cancer Institute and associate director for research in the Department of Radiation Oncology. He also directs the Division of Radiation and Cancer Biology and the Cancer Biology Interdisciplinary Graduate Program.

Harrington joined Stanford as the chair of the Department of Medicine in 2012 after serving as the director of the Duke Clinical Research Institute. He is the Arthur L. Bloomfield Professor in Medicine and a member of the Stanford Cardiovascular Institute. Harrington’s research focuses on cardiovascular disease, including mechanisms, treatments and clinical trial methodologies.

Visit the School of Medicine website to see the entire article.