Stanford Faculty Development Center for Medical Teachers  

Previous SFDC Program: Medical Decision Making

Between 1986 and 1999, four to six medical faculty per year were trained as Medical Decision Making (MDM) seminar facilitators. The 1-month, facilitator-training course provided participants with the background knowledge and seminar leadership skills they needed to deliver a series of 2-hour seminars to their colleagues and residents. The MDM curriculum covered the following concepts: Overview & Probability Assessment, Evaluating Test Performance, Calculating Posttest Probability, Decision Trees, Assessing Patient Preference, Threshold Model, and Cost-Effectiveness Analysis.Presentation topics include: Overview of Death and Dying in the U.S.A, Communicating with Patients and Families, Making Difficult Decisions, Pain Management, Non-Pain Symptom Management, Venues and Systems of Care, Psychiatric Issues & Spirituality, and Instituting Change.

The seminars were designed to instruct faculty and residents in basic MDM concepts and techniques, and on ways these medical teachers could pass this information on to medical trainees during clinical teaching interactions. The seminars were consistently well received. Evaluations showed that both faculty and resident participants found the seminars highly useful and would recommend them to others. The faculty trained at Stanford were given high ratings as seminar leaders. Through the years, participants reported that 70-80% of the material was "new." The impact on participants' knowledge, attitudes, and skills was positive, including: significant gains in knowledge of MDM concepts; significant increases in self-reported ability to perform MDM tasks; and significant increases in reported inclusion of MDM topics when teaching housestaff.

Program Faculty (1986-99): Harold Sox, Jr., MD; Douglas Owens, MD; Merlynn Bergen, PhD; and MDM program alumni

List of Trained MDM Facilitators
46 Institutions 58 Facilitators Program
Baystate Medical Center, Springfield, MA Andre Midgette MDM 1988
Case Western Reserve, Cleveland, OH Richard Bailey MDM 1998
Duke University, Durham, NC Lia Logio MDM 1997
East Carolina University, Greenville, NC Harry Adams
Deborah Proctor
MDM 1995
MDM 1996
Highland General Hospital, Oakland, CA Roger Peeks MDM 1993
Kawasaki University, Okayama, JAPAN Nobutaro Ban MDM 1995
Keesler USAF Medical Center, Biloxi, MS Diane Clarke MDM 1990
Letterman Army Med Center, Presidio of San Francisco, CA Nick Ninos
Roscoe Whitaker
MDM 1986
MDM 1986
Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA Anne Whitehurst MDM 1993
Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, WI Gustavo Heudebert MDM 1990
Nagoya University School of Medicine, Nagoya, JAPAN Katsuo Yamanaka MDM 1999
National Yang-Ming University, Taipai, TAIWAN Benjamin Kuo MDM 1999
Naval Medical Center Portsmouth, VA Ann Yoshihashi MDM 1996
Naval Medical Center San Diego, CA Patricia Pepper MDM 1997
New York University School of Medicine, NY, NY Anne Dembitzer MDM 1994
Northwestern University, Chicago, IL Robert Golub MDM 1987
Oregon Health Sciences University, Portland, OR David Nardone MDM 1986
Oxford University, Oxford, ENGLAND David Lawrence MDM 1995
Santa Clara Valley Medical Center, San Jose, CA Thomas Kelsey MDM 1986
Stanford University Jonathan Schapiro
James Hallenbeck
MDM 1996
MDM 1992
Lucile Salter Packard Children's Hospital Ted Sectish
Neyssa Marina
MDM 1994
MDM 1997
SUNY Stony Brook Lawrence Smith
Joanne Holland
MDM 1994
MDM 1996
Uniformed Services Univ. of the Health Sciences, Bethesda, MD Jerome Herbers MDM 1987
University of Alabama, Birmingham, AL Stuart Cohen MDM 1999
University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ Lisa Kaufmann MDM 1991
University of Buenos Aires, ARGENTINA Jorge Lantos
Raul Ceitlin
MDM 1992
MDM 1998
University of California, Davis, CA Glen Lillington
Sonia Sutherland
MDM 1987
MDM 1999
University of California, Los Angeles, CA Scott Votey
Jofel Magadia Yan
Maga Jackson
MDM 1992
MDM 1996
MDM 1991
University of California, San Diego, CA Timothy Dresselhaus MDM 1993
University of California, San Francisco, CA Judith Walsh
Clarence Braddock, III
MDM 1998
MDM 1992
University of Florence, Florence, ITALY Marisa Di Donato MDM 1997
University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA George Bergus
Ellen Gordon
MDM 1992
MDM 1998
University of Lleida, Lleida, SPAIN Jesus Montoliu MDM 1995
University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN Wesley Miller MDM 1999
University of Missouri-Kansas City, MO Diane Harper MDM 1994
University of Nevada, Reno, NV Steven Zell MDM 1994
University of New Mexico/ Albuquerque VAMC, NM Alan Halperin MDM 1993
University of Oklahoma , Tulsa , OK David Potts MDM 1990
University of Ottawa, CANADA John Henderson MDM 1988
University of Texas Medical Branch, Galveston, TX Thomas Blackwell
Clarence Jernigan
MDM 1987
MDM 1991
University of Texas, San Antonio, TX John Sawyer MDM 1988
University of Wisconsin Medical School, Milwaukee, WI Virginia Gennis MDM 1988
Wayne State University, Detroit, MI Paul Werner MDM 1994
West Virginia University, Morgantown, WVa Herbert Ward MDM 1991
Wright-Patterson Air Force Medical Center, OH Steve McDonald MDM 1988
Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, CT Sue Goldie MDM 1995


Last modified 05.06.2010

Footer Links: