Don't have an account? Click Here
Courtesy: Stanford Athletics  
Release: 09/18/2014

Over the 45 seasons since the NCAA first sponsored a men’s water polo national championship in 1969, Stanford has been an enduring model of excellence. Since that first season, the Cardinal has reached the NCAA Tournament 30 times, played in the national championship game on 20 occasions and captured 10 national titles.

Stanford has finished sixth or better nationally in 37 of the 45 seasons since the NCAA began sponsoring men’s water polo.

Stanford is one of just two schools in the country to have two undefeated seasons, with the 1981 team posting a 31-0 record and the 1986 squad going 36-0. The 1981 team produced three Olympians and the 1986 squad had two players that competed on the 1992 Olympic team. The 1976 championship team also produced three Olympians.

The 1981 team set two NCAA records - the most goals scored in an NCAA championship game with 17 and the largest scoring margin, at 11 goals (17-6 over Long BeachState). Stanford holds the NCAA record of 51 consecutive wins, set over three seasons (1985-87).

Stanford has produced 96 individual All-Americans, 34 members of the U.S. Senior National Team, 18 Olympians and 24 members of the USA World University Games team since 1975.

Of the 96 Cardinal All-Americans, nine were bestowed the honor in each of their four years on The Farm. That group includes John Gansel (1977-80), Jody Campbell (1978-81), Alan Mouchawar (1978-81), James Bergeson (1979-82), David Imbernino (1983-86), Todd Kemp (1985-89), Wolf Wigo (1991-94), Nick Ellis (1999-2002) and Tony Azevedo (2001-04).

Stanford has had 21 players inducted into the U.S. Water Polo Hall of Fame and three inducted into the International Water Polo Hall of Fame. 



Cardinal AXEcess

Cardinal AXEcess
#GoStanford Student-Athlete of the Week