Marjorie Lozoff Graduate Essay Prize

The Marjorie Lozoff Prize of $750 is awarded annually by the Marjorie Lozoff Fund for Research on Women and Gender to promote scholarship in areas that further women's development. Eligible topics, particularly those treating societies today, include, but are not limited to, men and women's role within the family, the role of women and gender in science, medicine, and engineering, women's participation in the professions and other areas of work, women as entrepreneurs, women and gender in developing societies, women and gender cross-culturally.

This prize honors the memory of Marjorie Morse Lozoff (September 30, 1916 - April 18, 2002). In an extraordinarily productive life as wife, mother, sociologist, social worker, teacher, researcher, and community leader, Marjorie Lozoff served as a model for the idea that most deeply absorbed her: furthering women's development for the benefit of women, men, children, and society.


2010 Recipients

Rikhil Bhavnani
For his essay "Do Electoral Quotas Work after They are Withdrawn? Evidence from a Natural Experiment in India."
Hilary Chart
For her essay "Child Care and Commodification of 'Women's Work' in Botswana; New Perspectives on Three Critiques of Capitalism."

2009 Recipient

Erica Lorraine Williams
For her essay "Mulata tipo Exportacao: Race and Gender in the Sexual Economies of Tourism in Salvador."

2008 Recipients

Benedetta Faedi
For her essay "From Violence Against Women to Women's Violence in Haiti."
Tiffany Romain
For her essay "The Futures Markets of Eggs: Commodifying Time and Hope."

2007 Recipient

Brooke Ricalde
For her essay "Women-Owned Small Businesses in the United States: A Growing Trend Reviewed in Historical Context."

2006 Recipients

David Siddhartha Patel
For his essay "Concealing to Reveal: The Changing Informational Role of Islamic Dress."
Sarah Richardson
For her essay "Feminist Contributions to Genetic Models of Sex Determination."

2005 Recipient

Sapna Cheryan
For her essay "The Social Representation of Computer Scientists: A Barrier to Inclusion for Women."

2004 Recipient

Jennifer Chertow
For her essay "Gender, Medicine, and Modernity: Childbirth in Tibet Today."

2003 Recipient

Amalia Miller
For her essay "Can Certified Nurse-Midwifery Change the Face of Maternity Care?"