Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Skip to content Skip to navigation

Program History

E-IPER grew directly out of the fruitful interdisciplinary collaborations among Stanford faculty, who recognized the value of purposefully training graduate students to be interdisciplinary scholars and leaders. As an interdisciplinary graduate program at Stanford, E-IPER undergoes a comprehensive approval and review process by the Academic Senate every five years.

E-IPER's historical highlights include these milestones:

Date Milestone
Early 2001 Robert B. Dunbar becomes first Faculty Director of IPER
October 2001 Stanford University's Academic Senate gives E-IPER approval to award the PhD and dual MS
September 2002 First cohort of six PhD students matriculates
January 2003 Steve Schneider joins Dunbar as co-Director when Dunbar takes on Directorship of Earth Systems
September 2005 Gretchen C. Daily, professor of Biological Sciences, appointed Faculty Director
June 2006 Senate reauthorizes E-IPER for five years
March 2007 Senate approves Joint MBA-MS in Environment and Resources
May 2007 Senate approves Joint JD-MS in Environment and Resources
September 2007 Four Graduate School of Business and four Stanford Law School students begin Joint MS in Environment and Resources
January 2008 E-IPER moves to the new Jerry Yang and Akiko Yamazaki Environment and Energy (Y2E2) Building
January 2009 Peter Vitousek, professor in Biology, appointed Faculty Director
February 2009 Dan and Rae Emmett make $10M endowed gift; program name changed to the Emmett Interdisciplinary Program in Environment and Resources
September 2009 Joint MS program grows significantly with 23 new students, including E-IPER's first from the School of Medicine
April 2011 Senate renews E-IPER for five years
January 2012 The Stanford Challenge fundraising goals to support E-IPER are achieved
June 2012 Strategic Plan developed and approved by Executive Committee
January 2013 Alumni population exceeds 100