Nicholas McKeown among 10 Stanford professors elected to AAAS 2015 class

Print view

American Academy of Arts and Sciences is one of the country's oldest and most prestigious honorary learned societies.

Stanford Professor Nicholas McKeownNicholas McKeown, a professor of computer science and electrical engineering, is among 10 Stanford professors recently elected as members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The academy is one of the country's oldest and most prestigious honorary learned societies, and a leading center for independent policy research.

Stanford's new members this year:

Liran Einav, professor of economics

David B. Grusky, the Barbara Kimball Browning Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences; and director, Center on Poverty and Inequality

Kenji Hakuta, the Lee L. Jacks Professor of Education, Stanford Graduate School of Education

Peter J. Klenow, the Ralph Landau Professor in Economic Policy; and senior fellow, Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research

Brian K. Kobilka, the Helene Irwin Fagan Chair in Cardiology; and professor of medicine, Stanford School of Medicine

Nicholas W. McKeown, the Kleiner Perkins, Mayfield, Sequoia Capital Professor of Computer Science and a professor of electrical engineering

Milbrey W. McLaughlin, founding director, John W. Gardner Center for Youth and Their Communities; and David Jacks Professor Emerita of Education and Public Policy, Stanford Graduate School of Education

Douglas Rivers, professor of political science; and senior fellow, Hoover Institution

Michael Snyder, the Stanford W. Ascherman MD, FACS, Professor in Genetics; and director, Center of Genomics and Personalized Medicine, Stanford School of Medicine

Johan van Benthem, the Henry Waldgrave Stuart Professor of Philosophy, Stanford University; and university professor emeritus of pure and applied logic, University of Amsterdam

For more information, read the list of the academy's new members.

Founded in 1780, AAAS' membership today includes more than 4,600 fellows and 600 foreign honorary members in mathematics, the physical and biological sciences, medicine, the social sciences and humanities, business, government, public affairs and the arts. Among the Academy's Fellows are more than 250 Nobel laureates and 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.

Last modified Thu, 23 Apr, 2015 at 10:19