Skip to content Skip to navigation

28th Faculty Senate

Welcome to the 28th Senate of the Academic Council.

Here you can review all the agendas, minutes, reports, and memorial resolutions for the 1995-1996 year. 

Gail Mahood, Senate Chair

Gail Mahood

Gail Mahood is the Professor of Geological and Environmental Sciences. She did her graduate work at U.C. Berkeley and joined the Stanford Faculty in 1979. Her research interests include silicic magmatism and volcanology. She has served in the Senate for 10 years, including 3 years on the Steering Committee as well as service on the Advisory Board (the committee which handles promotions and tenure), the Committe on Graduate Studies and the Committee on Undergraduate Admissions and Financial Aid.  

28th Steering Committee of the Senate 

The Steering Committee (StC) of the Senate sets the Senate agenda, confers degrees for the Summer, Autumn and Winter quarters, and serves at Administrative Sessions of the StC to review undergraduate and graduate programs on behalf of the Senate. StC members are elected each year by the Senate. Joining Chair Mahood are 

  • Professor Mike Atkin, Education
  • Professor David Clayton, Developmental Biology
  • Professor Alexander Fetter, Physics and Applied Physics
  • Professor Joseph Goodman, Electrical Engineering
  • Professor Brad Osgood, Electrical Engineering
  • Professor Gavin Wright, Economics
  • Provost Condoleezza Rice, ex officio
  • Academic Secretary Marlene Wine, ex officio


Senate Membership

Senate 28 roster by name
Senate 28 roster by electorial unit 
Senate 28 seating chart 
Senate 28 student representatives

White Fountain

Annual Academic Council Meeting

The President convenes the Academic Council faculty annually to deliver a state of the university address.  The Senate Chair reports on the highlights of the Senate.

Last year's minutes
The 1996 agenda

Main Quad

Senate Resources 

Information on parlimentary procedures, Senate charter and history of the Senate. 
View resources