Skip to content Skip to navigation

35th Faculty Senate

Welcome to the 35th Senate of the Academic Council 

Here you can review all the agendas, minutes, reports, and memorial resolutions for the 2002-03 year. 

Henry Greely, Senate Chair

Hank Greely

The Deane F. and Kate Edelman Johnson Professor of Law and, Professor, by courtesy, of Genetics, Henry Greely served on the Steering Committee and the Committee on Committees in addition to 11 years in the Senate. Professor Greely earned his JD at Yale and came to Stanford in 1985. His research interests include the ethical, legal and social implications of new biomedical technologies. 


35th Steering Committee of the Senate 

The Steering Committee (StC) of the Senate sets the Senate agenda, confers degrees for the Summer, Autumn and Winter quarters, and serves at Administrative Sessions of the StC to review undergraduate and graduate programs on behalf of the Senate. StC members are elected each year by the Senate. Joining Chair Greely are 

  • Professor Deborah Gordon, Biological Sciences, vice chair
  • Professor Elizabeth Bernhardt, German Studies
  • Professor Eamonn Callan, School of Education
  • Professor Norman Naimark, History
  • Professor Brad Osgood, Electrical Engineering
  • Professor David Palumbo-Liu, Comparative Literature 
  • Provost John Etchemendy, ex officio
  • Academic Secretary Edward Harris, ex officio


Senate Membership

Senate 35 roster by name
Senate 35 roster by electorial unit

White Fountain

Annual Academic Council Meeting

President Hennessy convenes the Academic Council faculty annually to deliver a state of the university address.  The Senate Chair reports on the highlights of the Senate.

Annual Academic Council Minutes of May 1, 2003
2002–2003 Agenda

Main Quad

Senate Resources 

Information on parlimentary procedures, Senate charter and history of the Senate. 
View resources