Skip to content Skip to navigation

37th Faculty Senate

Welcome to the 37th Senate of the Academic Council 

Here you can review all the agendas, minutes, reports, and memorial resolutions for the 2004-05 year. 

Rob Polhemus, Senate Chair

Rob Polhemus

Now the Joseph S. Atha Professor in Humanities, Emeritus, Rob Polhemus served in the Senate for 17 years, including 3 years on the Steering Committee, 1 year on the Committee on Committees and 3 years on the Comitttee on Libraries. He received his PhD from U.C. Berkeley and started his Stanford career in 1963. His research focuses on fiction as way to explore secular faith in the last two centuries as well as 19th and 20th centure British fiction. 

37th Steering Committee of the Senate 

The Steering Committee (StC) of the Senate sets the Senate agenda, confers degrees for the Summer, Autumn and Winter quarters, and serves at Administrative Sessions of the StC to review undergraduate and graduate programs on behalf of the Senate. StC members are elected each year by the Senate. Joining Chair Polhemus are 

  • Professor Phyllis Gardner, Medicine, vice chair
  • Professor Albert Camarillo, History
  • Professor Harry Elam, Drama
  • Professor Andrea Goldsmith, Electrical Engineering
  • Professor Roger Noll, Economics
  • Professor Doug Osheroff, Physics  
  • Provost John Etchemendy, ex officio
  • Academic Secretary Edward Harris, ex officio


Senate Membership

Senate 37 roster by name
Senate 37 roster by electorial unit 
Senate 37 seating chart

White Fountain

Annual Academic Council Meeting

President Hennessy convenes the Academic Council faculty annually to deliver a state of the university address.  The Senate Chair reports on the highlights of the Senate.

Annual Academic Council Minutes of March 31, 2005
2004-2005 Agenda

Main Quad

Senate Resources 

Information on parlimentary procedures, Senate charter and history of the Senate. 
View resources