Skip to content Skip to navigation

41st Faculty Senate

Welcome to the 41st Senate of the Academic Council 

Here you can review all the agendas, minutes, reports, and memorial resolutions for the 2009-10 year. 

Karen Cook, Senate Chair

Karen Cook is the Ray Lyman Wilbur Professor of Sociology in the School of Humanities and Sciences. She studies social interaction, social networks and trust. A member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences, she has served in the Senate for 6 years, including 2 years on the Steering Committee and 3 years on the Advisory Board, which reviews tenure and promotions. Professor Cook has been at Stanford since 1998. 

41st Steering Committee of the Senate 

The Steering Committee (StC) of the Senate sets the Senate agenda, confers degrees for the Summer, Autumn and Winter quarters, and serves at Administrative Sessions of the StC to review undergraduate and graduate programs on behalf of the Senate. StC members are elected each year by the Senate. Joining Chair Cook are 

  • Professor Harvey Cohen, Pediatrics vice chair
  • Professor Lanier Anderson, Philosophy
  • Professor Jonathan Bendor, Graduate School of Business 
  • Professor Margaret Brandeau, Management Science and Engineering
  • Professor Harry Elam, Drama
  • Professor Hank Greely, Law
  • Provost John Etchemendy, ex officio
  • Academic Secretary Rex Jamison, ex officio


Senate Membership

Senate 41 roster by name
Senate 41 roster by electorial unit 
Senate 41 seating chart 
Senate 41 student representatives

White Fountain

Annual Academic Council Meeting

President Hennessy convenes the Academic Council faculty annually to deliver a state of the university address.  The Senate Chair reports on the highlights of the Senate.

Minutes of April 30, 2009
2008-2009 Agenda

Main Quad

Senate Resources 

Information on parlimentary procedures, Senate charter and history of the Senate. 
View resources