Awards and Accolades

Congratulations to our 2015 Prize Recipients!

The 2015 Michelle Zimbalist Rosaldo Prize in the Social Sciences

Valerie Stevens for her paper, “A Love Triangle: Race, Sexuality, and Leprosy on Molokai,” which she wrote for the Research Seminar for History Majors under the guidance of Professor Estelle Freedman.

Garima Sharma for her thesis, “Factors Shaping Parent Aspirations for Daughters in India: A Case Study of Forbesganj, Bihar,” which she wrote for the Program in Honors in Democracy, Development, and the Rule of Law under the guidance of Christine Min Wotipka.

The 2015 Francisco Lopes Prize in the Humanities

Sarah Sadlier for her paper, “Libbie & LaSalle: Professional Widowhood and the Cult of  Domesticity in Post-Civil War America.” Sadlier’s Chappell Lougee Grant research with Estelle Freedman was the inspiration for this paper written for Professor Richard White’s course, 19th Century America.

Leow Hui Min Annabeth C. R. for her thesis, “Some Place Not Here: The City-State and Spatial Control of Racialised Sexuality in Recent Singaporean Anglophone Novels,” which she wrote for the Honors program in Comparative Studies of Race and Ethnicity under the guidance of Professor Saikat Majumdar.

The Diane Middlebrook Graduate Teaching Prize for 2015

Mackenzie Cooley, FGSS PhD Minor & PhD Candidate in History, in recognition of her work for her course, The Animal Other: Humans and Animals in Western History.

Congratulations to you all!

~ Thank you to those who served as reviewers ~

Ayca Alemdaroglu, Mackenzie Cooley, Allison Dahl Crossley, Petra Dierkes-Thrun, Carolyn Duffey, Andrew Elmore, Corey Fields, Susan Fisk, Annelise Heinz, Mackenzie Israel-Trummel, Nancy Kollman, Jonna Louvrier, Jean Ma, Jessi Piggot, Gary Segura, and Aiko Takeuchi-Demirci

~ And to those who submitted nominations and paper submissions ~

© Copyright 2014 Stanford University | All Rights Reserved.