You are here

Winners of the 2012 PEN Literary Awards announced


ReMix: Stanford University Libraries Newsletter, August 16, 2012

Congratulations to the winners and runners-up of the 2012 PEN Literary Awards, who were announced this week. This year marks the 90th anniversary of the awards -- "the most comprehensive literary awards program in the country," according to the PEN America Center's blog.

From the PEN American Center's website:

PEN American Center is the U.S. branch of the world’s oldest international literary and human rights organization. International PEN was founded in 1921 in direct response to the ethnic and national divisions that contributed to the First World War. PEN American Center was founded in 1922 and is the largest of the 144 PEN centers in 101 countries that together compose International PEN.

Throughout its 90-year history, PEN American Center has remained a writer-centered organization in which members play a leading role. PEN presidents, such as Arthur Miller, Norman Mailer, Susan Sontag, and Salman Rushdie have, and continue to place themselves at the forefront of the struggle to oppose censorship and defend writers.