• Senior Fellow Barbara Block (Biology) was a winner of the 2016 Peter Benchley Ocean Awards, the world’s preeminent honors for ocean conservation. Block was recognized for expanding our knowledge of highly migratory fish behavior, physiology, ecology and interactions using satellite tagging and tracking techniques or tags on a global scale. Read More
  • Woods affiliate Page Chamberlain (Environmental Earth System Science) was awarded the inaugural Senckenberg Prize for Nature Research. An expert in isotope geology, Chamberlain has advanced the understanding of erosion mechanisms, the carbon cycle, climate and precipitation patterns by interpreting the isotope ratios of various elements in rocks or organisms. Read More
  • Senior Fellow, by courtesy, Richard Luthy (Civil and Environmental Engineering) received the Gordon Maskew Fair Award for 2015 from the American Academy of Environmental Engineers & Scientists. The award recognizes his substantial contributions to the field of environmental engineering and his dedication to improving the quality of the world’s environment. Read More
  • Senior Fellow Eric Lambin (Environmental Earth System Science) won the 2014 Volvo Environmental Prize. Read More
  • A team of researchers, including Senior Fellow Stephen Luby, was awarded the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention's 2014 Charles C. Shepard Science Award, the agency's highest award for a scientific publication. Their study, published in The Journal of Pediatrics, presented compelling evidence for the use of an influenza vaccine in countries that have been reluctant to adopt it. 
  • Senior Fellow Jon Krosnick won the American Association for Public Opinion Research 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of outstanding contributions to public opinion research, which have produced "essential insights into questionnaire design and survey research methods.”
  • Senior Fellow Julie Kennedy was awarded the 2014 Excellence in Teaching Award by the Northern California Association of Phi Beta Kappa. 
  • Senior Fellow Paul Ehrlich was awarded the 400,000-euro ($543,000) 2014 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in the ecology and conservation biology category for his contributions to “key conceptual advances in the science of ecology and conservation biology” and his “long-standing influence in other academic disciplines.” Read More
  • In 2014, Senior Fellow David Lobell was named to Foreign Policy magazine’s list of 100 “Leading Global Thinkers.” Read More
  • Senior Fellow Chris Field was given the 400,000-euro ($543,000) 2014 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in the climate change category for his “visionary research on the global carbon cycle” and his role in “discovering the importance of ecosystems and their effective management in the battle against climate change.” Read More. Field also received the Roger Revelle Medal, an American Geophysical Union award presented annually for extraordinary contributions to research of atmospheric, biogeochemical and climate-related sciences. Read More  
  • Senior Fellow David Lobell was named a 2013 MacArthur Fellow "for unearthing richly informative, but often underutilized sources of data to investigate the impact of climate change on crop production and global food security." Read More
  • Senior Fellow Mark Jacobson won the American Geophysical Union's 2013 Atmospheric Sciences Ascent Award for his "dominating role in the development of models to identify the role of black carbon in climate change." Read More. Jacobson also won Global Green USA's 2013 Policy Design Award for his work on envisioning a future powered by renewable energy. Read More
  • Senior Fellow Chris Field was named co-recipient of the 2013 Max Planck Research Prize. The prestigious German award includes 750,000 euros ($969,000) to finance Field's research and fund cooperation with other scientists.  Read More
  • Senior Fellow Pamela Matson won the 2013 Ecological Society of America's Sustainability Science Award for her work as editor of "a scholarly work that makes the greatest contribution to the emerging science of ecosystem and regional sustainability through the integration of ecological and social sciences."  Read More
  • Senior Fellow Rosemary Knight was awarded Honorary Life Membership from the Near-Surface Geophysics Section of the Society of Exploration Geophysicists in 2012.
    Read More
  • Center Fellow David Lobell was the recipient of a NASA New Investigator Award in 2011 and the 2010 James B. Macelwane Medal from the American Geophysical Union for "significant contributions to the geophysical sciences by an outstanding young scientist." 
    Read More
  • Senior Fellow Paul Ehrlich received the Ramon Margalef Prize for lifetime achievement in ecology and environmental sciences in 2009.  
    Read More