We are improving our website to help you find what you're looking for. During this transition some URLs may change. Learn more...

Region 9 Tribal Program

EPA Region 9 is committed to helping tribes strengthen their abilities to manage environmental programs in Indian country, and to ensure that tribes have a voice in decisions that affect their land, air and water. The region serves 148 federally recognized tribes with the states of Arizona, California, and Nevada.

On this page:

Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC)

The Regional Tribal Operations Committee (RTOC) provides an opportunity for discussion between tribes and EPA. Region 9 holds quarterly RTOC meetings.

The next meeting is scheduled for October 26, 2015.

The Indian General Assistance Program (GAP) in Region 9

GAP is guided by the Guidance on the Award and Management of General Assistance Agreements for Tribes and Inter-tribal Consortia.
For more information regarding the administration of GAP in Region 9, see the GAP Officers contact list.

Tribal Consultation Procedures for Region 9

Under the EPA Policy on Consultation and Coordination with Indian Tribes, EPA consults on a government‐to‐government basis with federally recognized tribes. For more specific guidelines on consultation with tribes in Region 2, see the regional procedures below.

Federally-recognized Tribes within Region 9

Hawaii has no indian nations at this time.
Map showing the tribal lands in EPA's Region 9

The links in this section exit the site Exit

Top of Page