# NATIONAL ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE ADVISORY COUNCIL

List of Members September 2014

#### **DESIGNATED FEDERAL OFFICER**

Sherri P. White

Office of Environmental Justice U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW (MC-2201A) Washington, D.C. 20460

Phone: (202) 564-2462 Fax: (202) 501-0936 E-mail: white.sherri@epa.gov

## **CHAIR**

Margaret J. May

Executive Director Ivanhoe Neighborhood Council

Kansas City, Missouri

## **OTHER MEMBERS**

## ACADEMIA (4)

Charles Chase

Professor, Landscape Architecture and Planning University of Colorado-Denver

Denver, Colorado

# Mike Ellerbrock

Professor of Environmental Economics/Ethics Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Blacksburg, Virginia

## Fatemeh Shafiei

Chair and Associate Professor of Political Science Spelman College Atlanta, Georgia

## **Nicky Sheats**

Director, Center for the Urban Environment Thomas Edison State College Trenton, New Jersey

## **COMMUNITY-BASED ORGANIZATIONS (6)**

Teri E. Blanton

Kentuckians for the Commonwealth Berea, Kentucky

## Andrea T. Guajardo

Executive Director Conejos County Clean Water, Inc Antonito, Colorado

# Cynthia Kim Len Rezentes

President Mohala I Ka Wai Waianae, Hawaii

## *Margaret May* (see Chair above)

#### Horace Strand

Director Chester Environmental Partnership Chester, Pennsylvania

#### Kimberly Wasserman

Senior Advisor Little Village Environmental Justice Organization Chicago, Illinois

# **NONGOVERNMENTAL/ENVIRONMENTAL GROUPS (6)**

Kerry Doi

President and CEO
Pacific Asian Consortium in Empowerment (PACE)
Los Angeles, California

#### Ellen Drew

Regional Manager Rural Communities Assistance Corporation Las Vegas, New Mexico

## Savonala 'Savi' Horne

Executive Director Land Loss Prevention Project Durham, North Carolina

#### Vernice Miller-Travis

Vice Chair Maryland State Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities Bowie, Maryland

#### **Iavier Francisco Torres**

Technical Assistance Manager Border Environment Cooperation Commission (BECC) El Paso, Texas

#### Iill Witkowski

Waterkeeper Choose Clean Water Coalition Anapolis, Maryland NEJAC Executive Council List of Members January 2014 Page 2 of 2

# **INDUSTRY/BUSINESS (3)**

# Stephanie Hall

Managing Counsel, Environmental Safety and Regulatory Affairs/Litigation Valero Energy Corporation San Antonio, Texas

## Effenus Henderson

HenderWorks Federal Way, Washington

#### **Deidre Sanders**

Environmental Justice Program Manager Pacific Gas & Electric San Francisco, California

# TRIBAL/INDIGENOUS GOVERNMENTS AND ORGANIZATIONS (4)

Peter M. Captain, Sr.

Elder Advisor to the Executive Board of Directors Yukon River Intertribal Watershed Council Fairbanks, Alaska

# Rosalyn LaPier

Environmental Historian Piegan Institute Missoula, Montana

#### Kandi Mossett

Native Energy and Climate Campaign Organizer Indigenous Environmental Network Bemidji, Minnesota

## **STATE/LOCAL GOVERNMENTS (4)**

## **Michelle Moore**

Regional Environmental Justice Coordinator/Environmental Analyst

New York State Department of Environmental Conservation Long Island City, New York

#### Edith Pestana

Administrator, Environmental Justice Program
Office of the Commissioner
Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental
Protection
Hartford, Connecticut

#### Paul Shoemaker

Associate Director Boston Public Health Commission Boston, Massachusetts

## Kenneth Smith

Mayor City of Kingsland, Georgia Kingsland, Georgia