Cox Medal

Nominate a professor for the Cox Medal

If you've conducted research with a Stanford professor, consider nominating her/him for the Allan V. Cox Medal for Faculty Excellence Fostering Undergraduate Research at Stanford University. Since 1988, the Cox Medal has been awarded annually to a faculty member who has established a record of excellence directing undergraduate research over a number of years. It may also go to a faculty member who has done an especially outstanding job with just one or two undergraduates whose work is unusually superior.

All University faculty are eligible to be nominated. Due to the number of exceptional nominations received each year, previous recipients aren’t eligible to be nominated again. Nominations are considered for two years. The medal is awarded during Commencement Weekend, with the winner receiving a citation, engraved medal, and prize check.

Nomination Deadline: Monday, April 18, 2016

Click here to submit a Cox Medal nomination

Previous Recipients of the Cox Medal

Year   Name/Department/School

2015     Jonathan Payne/Geophysics/Earth Sciences
2014     Philip Hanawalt/Biology/Humanities & Sciences
2013     Stacey Bent/Chemical Engineering/Engineering
2012     Kate Maher/Geological and Environmental Sciences/Earth Sciences
2011     Garry Gold/Radiology/Medicine
2010     Elizabeth Hadly/Biology/Humanities & Sciences
2009     Stephen Haber/History and Hoover Institution/Humanities & Sciences
2008     Simon Klemperer/Geophysics/Earth Sciences
2007     Umran Inan/Electrical Engineering /Engineering
2006     Gerald Fuller/Chemical Engineering/Engineering
2005     Mike Tomz/Political Science/Humanities & Sciences
2004     M. Bruce MacIver/Anesthesia/Medicine
2003     Daphne Koller/Computer Science/Engineering
2002     Susan Okin/Ethics in Society/Humanities & Sciences
2001     John W. Rick/Anthropology/Humanities & Sciences
2000     George M. Fredrickson/History/Humanities & Sciences
1999     Russell D. Fernald/Human Biology and Psychology/Humanities & Sciences
1998     James L. Gibbs, Jr./Anthropology/Humanities & Sciences
1997     Luis R. Fraga/Political Science/Humanities & Sciences
1997     Richard N. Zare/Chemistry/Humanities & Sciences
1996     David Epel/Biology/Humanities & Sciences
1995     Terry Karl/Political Science/Humanities & Sciences
1994     Anne Fernald/Psychology/Humanities & Sciences
1993     Ward Watt/Biology/Humanities & Sciences
1992     Frank Wolak/Economics /Humanities & Sciences
1991     Kennell Jackson/History/Humanities & Sciences
1990     William Fairbank/Physics/Humanities & Sciences
1989     James Collman/Chemistry/Humanities & Sciences
1988     Carolyn Lougee Chappell/History/Humanities & Sciences

Who was Professor Allan Cox?

The Cox award commemorates the late Allan Cox, a professor of geophysics and dean of the School of Earth Sciences. He is widely known as the co-discoverer of magnetic field reversals. When the Cox Medal was established, it was stated that “in the late 1970s and early 1980s, it was Cox, more than any other Stanford faculty member, who extolled the virtue of research programs such as those pioneered at MIT. He encouraged professors to adopt the same goals and provide similar opportunities to undergraduates here. His energy led to increased funding and support for faculty-student collaboration in research.